Changing Music Tastes

As I sit here and write this rap is playing on the radio. Excuse me, the stereo.

No, I’m not a fan of rap. I listen to it for two reasons.

  1. I only get a few stations here in the boondocks and the one I listen to for their morning show, also plays rap.
  2. It’s something different from my usual music selections.

I don’t change the station or turn the machine off because:

  • I sort of like the rhythm and beat.
  • the words aren’t disruptive or hateful
  • I want to listen to something, the noise drowns out the silence of an empty house.
  • I’m expanding my musical repertoire.

That last reason is a little misleading. Just because I listen to a different genre of music doesn’t mean I understand it, or know anything about the artists of that genre. I haven’t yet gone out and bought a rap CD (what I used to call a record.)

Rap isn’t the only new genre of music I’ve dabbled in. In the last seven years I’ve also listened to, and enjoyed, classical,  children’s music, soft rock, pop, and jazz. Also, country music from the past (songs sung and recorded before 1970) as well as music from the 50s.

Why?

Because listening to country music hurt too much. That was the music my husband and I both enjoyed. Hearing songs he’d enjoyed stabs to my  heart, and tears. Even songs he hadn’t heard often told a story that had the tears once again falling. I quit listening to it.

I tried to listen to the car radio one day while making a long-distance drive. The first song playing was “I Loved Her First”  recorded by the music group Heartland.

The song had come out during the summer of my husband’s illness so I hadn’t heard it. Hearing it as I drove down the road broke my heart, again.

I had to pull over to wipe the tears and be able to see. I tried to picture my son and his daughter as the song played.

No good. The pictures playing through my mind were those of my daughter and her daddy. Finally, I turned the radio off. Took a deep breath, and continued my journey.

I’ve been careful of the country songs I listened to since then.

Someone suggested that I was limiting myself by refusing to listen to country music.

Nope.

Just the opposite. When I turned off one genre, I opened myself up to hear and enjoy other genres.

What about you?

Have you changed your musical interests?

Have you changed other areas of interest?

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Changing Music Tastes

  1. Wow! So sorry for your loss!! Yes, my tastes in music have expanded as I got older, but actually, I have always liked a variety of types of music. My nostalgic music is anything from the 70s because it’s the decade I grew up in, so those are my oldies but goodies. 🙂

    • Nita says:

      Thanks AnnaJeanine. I enjoy a variety, but have, for the most part, left country-western which used to be my favorite. Could not think of the words, “oldies” or “nostalgic” when writing the post. Thanks for using them and reminding me. 🙂

  2. Nita – I like to listen to ALL types of music! Rap – eh… I like some of it! But, it needs to grow on me a little bit 🙂

    • Nita says:

      Paul, I totally understand. In fact I was surprised when I stopped typing and actually listened, to find it was rap. Or at least, what I call rap. Nothing derogatory, or hateful in the lyrics. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  3. There are songs I couldn’t bear to hear after my brother died, mainly because they were played at his funeral and I ended up with his CD collection. They were country. He would have laughed his butt off knowing I listened to country music once or twice, just for him. He knew how much I hated country music. I still listen to classical, though. He was a redneck with a secret classical stash because I played it constantly for him when he was a baby. Those songs bring back good memories.

    • Nita says:

      Thanks for stopping by Beth, and the reminder. Yes, there are songs that bring back good memories. Those are a joy to hear again.

Leave a Reply

