Dance The Pain Away

Courage is grace under pressure

Dance like no one is watching.

Even if you can’t dance.

If you have two left feet.

If you have no rhythm.

If you have trouble breathing.

If you are afraid your legs aren’t strong enough.

Whatever your excuse, tell it “no” and dance.

Dancing alone means no one is judging. Dancing helps us cope with the terrors of the day. Dancing is an easy, affordable, attainable, tool to help us cope with our grief.

When we dance we aren’t thinking about all our problems, or pains. We just enjoy the moment.

My dancing, is more just shaking my body and moving around. Hey, it counts.

If you can’t stand, dance from your chair. Put your hands in the air and sway to the music.

Let the music take you away.

There are many benefits to dancing. But, for now. Just enjoy.

I forgot to mention the other day that all 31 posts this month will be about embracing our new life. Dancing is a great way to begin to embrace the new us.

Do you enjoy dancing around the house?

Do you do a specific dance, or like me, just move?

When was the last time  you danced?

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in 31 Days, grief healing tools, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dance The Pain Away

  1. Hi, Nita!
    Dancing is a huge part of what I’m doing these days and I’m actually heading to training for my NIA white belt – training to become a dance teacher in NonImpact Aerobics. I promise you I never thought that you’d hear that about me. Dance in joy! Dance in the energy of the universe and dance away from the things that are bringing you down.

    Love your post!
    Jeanne

  2. Grant Bull says:

    I LOVE that photo and dance always makes me feel better. Thanks for sharing this.

  3. I love dance, especially as an exercise 🙂 It is so freeing for sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

