Posted in 31 Days, five minute friday, grief healing tools

Why Write Our Pain Away

20131005_132500“I’m not going to journal.”

That was my answer when a writing friend suggested I journal about my husband’s illness. I repeated the answer when he lost his battle and she suggested again. No way was I going to write about either of those events.

I’m a writer. I love the written word. Why wouldn’t I want to use a system at my disposal?

Three of my reasons were:

1.     I didn’t want to start something that I wouldn’t continue on a consistent basis. I didn’t want another chore, something to feel bad about not completing.

2.     I didn’t want written confirmation of the terror of our lives. I figured whatever the outcome; we wouldn’t need any extra reminders.

3.     I didn’t want others reading my words and judging me. We all know of people who make judgments on the decisions of others. Whether they were in my life at the moment or not, I didn’t want those people having access to my thoughts and fears.

However, I am a writer. Writing is what I do. Why not use writing to help heal? Over the years I have turned to writing. It is after all what I know. I’ve learned that none of my objections lasted. Here are my answers to myself about my objections:

1.     Journaling doesn’t have any rules. A journal entry can be made hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, or whenever we feel the need to write. Writing in a journal is just a way to help sort thoughts, bounce ideas around, think out situations, and vent frustrations. The frequency of posts is unimportant.

2.     The terror isn’t forgotten, but what about the funny and good? The things that made us laugh? Those are memories worth keeping and a journal will help.

3.     Writing in a journal is as private as the author wants it to be. On days when I write something I don’t want others reading, the shredder eats it after it’s written. Other times, mentally I tell those that would judge, “you weren’t there. You don’t get to judge or say what I should do, say or think.”

Do you journal?

If you don’t journal, why not?    

Linking up with Lisa Jo Baker and Five Minute Friday.

 

It’s easy to join in, just:

  1. Check what the prompt is on my blog.
  2. Write a post in only five minutes on that topic on your blog.
  3. {And if you don’t have a blog, no worries! Just leave your writing as a comment on my post}
  4. Link over here and invite friends to join in.
  5. Select the permalink to your post {so not your blog url http://www.lisajobaker.com but your post url http://www.lisajobaker.com/2012/07/five-minute-friday-2/ }
  6. Using the blue linky tool at the bottom of my Five Minute Friday post enter your link.
  7. It will also walk you through selecting which photo you want to show up in the linky.
  8. Your post will show up in our Five Minute Friday linky.
  9. Be sure and encourage the person who linked up before you!

– See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/#sthash.0UzDlmM0.dpuf

Five Minute Friday

::
So, here’s the skinny: every Friday for over a year hundreds of people join a kind of writing flash mob over here.

We write for five minutes flat. All on the same prompt that I post here at 1 minute past midnight EST ever Friday. And we connect on Twitter with the hashtag #FiveMinuteFriday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

It started because I’d been thinking about writing and how often our perfectionism gets in the way of our words. And I figured, why not take 5 minutes and see what comes out: not a perfect post, not a profound post, just five minutes of focused writing.

So now on Fridays a group of people who love to throw caution to the wind and just write without worrying if it’s just right gather to share what five minutes buys them. Just five minutes.

Your words. This shared feast.

It’s easy to join in, just:

  1. Check what the prompt is on my blog.
  2. Write a post in only five minutes on that topic on your blog.
  3. {And if you don’t have a blog, no worries! Just leave your writing as a comment on my post}
  4. Link over here and invite friends to join in.
  5. Select the permalink to your post {so not your blog url http://www.lisajobaker.com but your post url http://www.lisajobaker.com/2012/07/five-minute-friday-2/ }
  6. Using the blue linky tool at the bottom of my Five Minute Friday post enter your link.
  7. It will also walk you through selecting which photo you want to show up in the linky.
  8. Your post will show up in our Five Minute Friday linky.
  9. Be sure and encourage the person who linked up before you!

– See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/#sthash.0UzDlmM0.dpuf

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

3 thoughts on “Why Write Our Pain Away

  1. My journal is my blog, and I do it in order to make myself go out and experience life (because obviously I’ll need something to write about haha). It works really well and I find myself saying yes to life much more often 🙂

  2. Great insight. I do not journal for the same reasons you mentioned in your piece although there have been times I needed to write out thoughts and feelings. I typically would burn then after as a symbolic way of releasing the negativity. Your piece will make me reconsider future journaling options though.

  3. We all need outlets for our pain and thoughts Nita. Some write, paint or talk others have other creative outlets. It’s always up to you who you share it with. And we need to heal to remember the good times. I like how you’ve turned your first 3 into the 3 do’s

Leave a Reply

