Posted in Adventure

Roads of Adventure

Whatever the time of day, whatever the type of road, it's always an adventure.
Whatever the time of day, whatever the type of road, it’s always an adventure.

Life’s road isn’t always paved and smooth. It’s not even always straight or a single road. In his poem THE ROAD NOT TAKEN, Robert Frost wrote, in part:

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Sometimes the road itself is the adventure. The twists and turns of life we take and continue on. Once in a while those twists will turn into another road, one we take without even thinking about it.

When my husband died, we were going down the path of life. Facing the little challenges and bumps in the road as they came. However, his death was a twist I wasn’t expecting, and suddenly I found myself on another road entirely.

One that limited my exposure, and involvement in the activities we’d shared. So far this new road has led me into speaking in public, and deeper into the quilting and writing world. Where else it will lead I have no idea. But, I’ll continue the journey and exploring new adventures.

What about you? What kind of adventures has life put in your path?

What is adventurous to you?

What was your last adventure or challenge?

Robert Frost
Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

5 thoughts on “Roads of Adventure

  1. Sometimes I like to think back and wonder what would have happened if I didn’t make one little decision. It is very interesting how one small decision can open a whole new road that can change your life forever. Sorry about your husband. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    1. Timothy, yes it is surprising how a small decision can make a big difference. Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate your kind thoughts.

  2. Nita, thank you for sharing. It is amazing where this journey of life takes us, to unknown and unexpected places. I am thankful that I know the One who has created the path and He is on this journey with me. May God richly bless you as you continue down life’s path, learning and growing as you go.

  3. Beautiful pics and a beautiful, thought-provoking post! Today is the anniversary of the day my husband asked me to marry him, so we were talking a bit about adventures we’ve had along the way this morning ๐Ÿ™‚ The latest challenge was his surgery for cancer – which he has almost recovered from. Life is crazy, but most of the time it’s crazy beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. So happy to hear your husband is recovering from his surgery and is beating cancer. Always love to hear when that horrible disease is conquered. Life is crazy, maybe that’s what makes it beautiful. Thanks for stopping.

Leave a Reply

