Posted in five minute friday

Painting a Brighter Future

The choices were staggering. Not only colors like, blue, green, teal, pink, and yellow, beige, eggshell, but variations and combinations of them to choose from. Hundreds of colors, and I had to select just three.

Kitchen was easy. Yellow. I’d always wanted a yellow kitchen. Of course this kitchen is so small there’s only a tiny portion of the yellow showing. I do have a yellow kitchen though.

The bedroom, bath, and living room were another thing altogether. I tried talking friends and family into just buying some paint, any paint, any color, and painting the house. I swore I wouldn’t care. Just paint the stupid place so I could move.

They wouldn’t have it. I had to select the colors. Why? I didn’t care what color was in what room. I didn’t figure I’d even notice.

Still, they insisted.

Finally, I relented and found a soft green to match a leaf on one of my plants for the living room. My daughter-in-law, Stephanie and I headed to the store to purchase the paint.

“What color are you going to paint the bedroom?” She asked.

“I don’t know. I’m hoping a color will just jump out at me. Praying God would place my hand on the perfect color. “

He did.

While looking at the wide array of colors available my eye kept going to the purples. Not Barney purple, although now, seven years later I am considering buying some of that bright purple and adding it to the room. Maybe on one wall?

No, what I found was a softer purple, just a little darker than lavender that I found myself buying.

I learned later that purple is the color for cancer survivors.

I didn’t have the disease, but I survived it. I’m still standing after it took my husband, partner and lover.

Purple was the perfect color. For my new house. My new life. The perfect color for me.

After painting my bedroom purple, it has become my favorite color. The color of strength.

Do you have trouble selecting colors when repainting?

What color is your favorite room?

When was the last time you painted a room in your house?

Today I’m linking up with LisaJo Baker and Five Minute Friday.  Bloggers write for five minutes on a topic using a prompt Lisa posts. We write and post without excessive editing. It’s fun and scary at the same time. To see what others have said about Paint, check out Lisa’s blog and click on some of the linkys.

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

2 thoughts on “Painting a Brighter Future

    1. Thanks for stopping by Sabrina. Like everyone else, survival is an ongoing process, but God’s colors on my walls, and in the yard help.

Leave a Reply

