Posted in 5FonF, Fitness

Fitness for Widows

A day late and dollar short is sometimes my way of life. My blogging friend Julie, at Julie Unplugged, introduced me to Fitness 5 on Friday, the brainchild of Jen at JVKom Chronicles.

I’m linking up because I know that being healthy means I can enjoy life more. Since my favorite exercise partner is no longer with me, my husband and I used to go for walks, I’m turning to online exercise friends. Maybe a little exercise will help me be able to do the things I want to do without needing to take two or three days to recuperate. It’s a hope anyway.

 

Come along and join the fun, I need some company. Most of those who linked up for the #F5onF are at the deep, deep, deep, end of the exercise pool. They do things like run, for fun not because they are late and need to catch someone or something. They do weight training, with weights, not food. They have special exercise clothes and equipment.

I don’t run (unless I’m very, very late, and even then it’s more of a fast walk.) Weights? Does moving my overweight body around count as weight lifting? Special clothes? Naw. Whatever I put on that morning is my exercise outfit. Check out my answer below about my exercise shoes.

Each Friday Jen will be asking fitness questions and then we’ll answer and link up on. Hopefully  having this smidge of accountability in my week I will pay more attention to my fitness levels and reach some of my goals.

Here is yesterday’s check in, told you, day late.

1. How many minutes of Cardio did you do this week? (anything that got your heart pumping counts!)

Let’s see. It was a rough week. Last Saturday I walked from the front to the back of a cemetery, and back to my car. Walked around an “island” with the grandkids. Walked for 3 hours through the science museum with grandkids, don’t forget walking to and from the car. Walked the grands to their gate at the airport, and, of course, their gate was at the end, the very end. However, we were in the Oklahoma City airport which isn’t that huge, so I’m not sure that little walk counts.  Slow walks, fast walks, short walks, long walks, I’m guessing maybe 180 minutes of cardio this week. Hmmm, wonder what the goal should be?

2. What is your favorite physical activity? 

Is she kidding? My favorite  physical activity is moving the food from the table to my mouth.  Okay, for real my favorite all-time physical activity is anything in the water. Swimming, playing, aqua-exercise, if it involves being in large amounts of water I enjoy it

3. How much water do you drink on a daily basis?

I love water! It is my go-to drink. I just forget to drink sometimes. I usually manage to remember to drink at least eight glasses of water a day, some days I’m not as good.

4. What is your favorite healthy snack?

Healthy snack? Isn’t that an oxymoron? Snacks aren’t healthy, they are things like, cookies, cake, chips, candy bars or ice-cream. None of which can be construed as “healthy.”  Good thing she didn’t ask about favorite “unhealthy” snack (hint- chips, hands down potato chips are my favorite snack. My son says if there is an open package of chips at my house it’s empty.) However, I do also love fruits and veggies, more veggies really. Now that it’s summer, a plate of sliced tomatoes and cucumbers are a great snack, or meal for me.

5. What’s your favorite athletic shoe?

Shoes? We’re supposed to wear shoes? My athletic shoes are eight years old (or nine). I just unpacked them the other day, actually I found where I had stashed them a couple of years ago. If I go walking in the pasture, or working in the yard I wear them, or another pair of sturdy shoes. The rest of the time I’m in sandals or barefoot.

So how about you? Have you done any type of exercise this week?

Do you enjoy any form of exercise?

Come and play with me in the shallow end of the exercise pool, I need company.Answer any or all of the questions on your blog (be sure to link up) or in the comments below.

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

One thought on “Fitness for Widows

  1. Thanks so much for linking up! You link wasn’t working so it took me a bit to find your post. The goal for Cardio should be 20-60 minutes 3-5 times per week. So I’d say you are doing great at 180. And yes, snacks can absolutely be healthy. I know I know, the unhealthy ones taste so much better. It’s a work in progress for me. I’m a snacker and got that from my mom. If you ever have any questions feel free to reach out. My goal is not for everyone to become fitness fanatics but for everyone to be healthy 🙂 Hope you will link up again!

Leave a Reply

