Summer Fitness Program

Thank goodness for Jen at  JV Chronicles and her Fitness 5 on Friday. It helps me remember to work on my fitness every week. “Help” being the operative word there. This week’s fitness goals or plans have fallen by the wayside, or poolside.

Filling the pool with water so I can get in and exercise has been the fitness workout  of the week. Because, unlike my pond, which if filled naturally by the rain, water only gets in the pool if it is manually added.

the pond

 

See? Exercise is on my mind. Sort of. The problem is I am on well water, which is good for the wallet, not so much on water output. I have to turn the hose off to let the tank refill so the pump motor doesn’t burn up.

This means most of this week’s exercise consisted of walking from the house:

  1.  To the outside faucet, turning it on

2. walking over to the pool to see the water is going IN the pool and not elsewhere

3.  walking around the pool skimming leaves and critters out

4.  going back in the house for an hour or so.

An hour later I come back outside to:

1. Turn the water off

2. Walk over to the pool to check on water level progress

3.  Walk around pool again to skim

4. Walk back to the house to work inside and wait for pump to refill tank.

Repeating both processes several times during the day has put a kink in fitness ideas. However, I do have answers for last week’s questions:

1. Have you ever taken a fitness class? Does physical education class in high school and college count? No? Then no, not fitness class. In part because I live in a rural area where there isn’t one.

2. Why do you workout? Because I want to stay in this house. If I get down where I can’t move around or be safe here I’ll have to move into town, and possibly *shudders* an apartment.

3. What is your biggest motivator? My grandkids. I like being able to get on the floor and play with them, or walk for hours in a kid-friendly museum or go for a hike with them.

4. Where do you draw your inspiration from? People like this:

5. Do you have routine physicals? (it’s very important to check your health) No, first I can’t afford it. Second, if I go to the doctor he/she might find something wrong with me. I do check my blood pressure and blood sugar levels periodically. 

Now, the pool is near capacity. That means aquatic exercise this week. Does getting in the pool and floating count as exercise? It does require climbing a ladder.

No? Fine. I’ll do more than float. Next week my fitness report will include several days of water indulgence.

Do you have a fitness plan?

Are you as fit as you want?

What is your most favorite exercise type activity that you would do every day if you could?

Join the Friday Fitness crew?

 

 

 

 

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in 5FonF, Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Fitness Program

  1. jvkom says:

    We were on well water when I was growing up. I feel ya. Well at least you check your BP and blood sugar. Good heart health is so important! Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

