Breathing in the Good

“Breathe in. Breathe out. Inhale Exhale. Take in the good. Exhale the bad.” Ever hear those words, or words similar?

I have. Every time I watch (and sometimes follow) an exercise video. Those are popular words for fitness gurus.

Except, it’s not just during exercise that I need to breathe in the good stuff and breathe out the bad stuff.

The memories of good food furnished, and all the people I met  at a blood drive, are memories that make me smile.

food at blood drive

 

If the blood drive day isn’t enough to banish sad thoughts, I can turn to evenings with my quilt group. Sharing quilts in progress, quilts finished, even found quilts, and of course, food, are a sure mood lifter.

photos dec. 2013 086

 

 

20131212_183841

 

If food and quilts aren’t enough to lift my spirits there’s family time and God’s Life is full of good times and bad. Breathing in the wonderful days and times helps to expel the dark, gloomy, and sad thoughts.

 

20131128_152244

Linking up with LisaJo Baker and her Five Minute Friday Friends. Five Minute Fridays are when we:

Write for five minutes flat (okay, maybe a couple of minutes longer sometimes, and adding pictures takes me a few more minutes.) We all write on the same prompt which LisaJo posts on her blog late Thursday nights.

There is no extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Which is good for me since grammar and I aren’t always on friendly terms.

We post our words unedited, unscripted. Real.

Check out what others had to say about “exhale” on Lisa’s blog.

What do you do when sad thoughts threaten to overtake you?

What makes you smile every time?

BEYOND THE GRIEF-A WIDOWS SURVIVAL GUIDE

 

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in five minute friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

