Fuel for Fitness

In days gone by those older than me allowed me to hang with them. Nowadays, thanks in large part to the internet, it’s the young’uns who let me hang with them. Like those young, fit, healthy folks that run with Jen over at JVKom Chronicles and link up with her Fitness  Friday.

This week she suggests we list our favorite fuel. As in food and beverage to fuel us, not the gasoline or diesel that fuels our vehicles.

My first favorite it water. Again.

As I mentioned last time, here, water is my favorite exercise. Okay, not water exactly, but being in the water and moving.

Now, here again water is my go-to fuel. Honest, most days I drink sixty ounces or more. Sure, there are those days I don’t. Those days are rare. I drink water when I first get up, for every meal, and sometimes in between.

Yes, I drink other liquids too, milk, green tea, lemon water, that’s still water though. Right? On occasion I have a soda. Dr. Pepper was my favorite splurge. Although, Root Beer is my current treat drink of choice.

My other favorite drink is milk. Real milk. Not milk from nuts, or beans, real milk from cows, or goats. Since I don’t currently have access to goat milk, it’s cow’s milk in my refrigerator.

During the winter milk is good with meals and sometimes as a snack (or with a snack). In the summer though, is when milk shines for me. Warning, the following statement may cause gagging. Ready?

I drink milk when I’m hot. If I’ve been working and am hot and sweaty, a glass of milk will cool and refresh better than anything. It’s often followed by a glass of water, however, not always.

My kids and friends are all horrified that I drink milk when I’m hot. Some of them think it should curdle on my stomach. It doesn’t.

Strange as it sounds, milk is my second choice for favorite fuel.

My favorite food-type fuel is vegetables. No, I can’t limit it to one. First, it depends on the season. Right now is garden season. I love fresh tomatoes and cucumbers. Sometimes I’ll slice up a tomato to go with breakfast, or it will be breakfast. Sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, along with some cheese make a quick tasty lunch or supper.

Eggs might also qualify as a favorite fuel. They keep forever. For several months anyway, at least fresh ones do. They can be cooked in a variety of ways, fried (no oil), scrambled, boiled, as a quiche, omelet, and probably other methods I’m not thinking about right now.

There you have it, water and milk, eggs and veggies and I’m good. How about you? What are your favorite foods, healthy or otherwise. Just because Fridays are about fitness doesn’t mean you can’t share your favorite food. Don’t forget to check out the other bloggers linked up with Jen. They have some good food ideas and a few recipes I’ll be trying.

Do you have any type of fitness plan?

Do you have a favorite drink, healthy or otherwise?

What is your favorite go-to food?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fuel for Fitness

  1. jvkom says:

    I absolutely love your list! I wish I was great about drinking water. I’m trying to get better. And I am so glad you are not scared of eggs. They got such a bad name awhile back. But they are so good for you! Thanks again for linking up!

  2. Farrah says:

    Oh, water. I’m terrible about drinking enough, but have been working on it. :/ Hooray for veggies and eggs! 😀

Leave a Reply

