Musical Memory Lane

Musical Monday

Have you been down memory lane lately? It’s true, some memories can make us sad and we don’t want to live in the past. However, there are memories that make us smile, or make us think of the good times. Musical memories are good at helping us smile.

How about a musical memory trip?

I grew up in an era when the kids listened to the music their parents wanted to hear and watched the television shows of their parents. My dad was a country-western fan. In truth, I still enjoy country music, although it has changed a little from my dad’s music.

He listened to people like Hank Snow and Hank Williams Senior. He also watched the Lawrence Welk show. Yeah, as a kid, if I’d known the phrase, “gag me with a spoon,” I’d probably have used it. At least when my parents weren’t around.

The Lawrence Welk show did have a couple of bright spots for me though. Bobby Burgess and his dance partner, he had three before the show ended, although I only remember Barbara Boylan and Cissy King.  The routines varied from tap to ballroom and were beautiful and always fun to watch. I’d sit through most anything to watch them dance.  

The other bright spot on the  Lawrence Welk show, was a faster pace music. My kind of music. It was the piano playing of Joann Castle, playing ragtime music. 

Moving on down the musical memory lane, about the time I started to have a say-so in the music I listened to the Beatles were becoming a sensation. I’m not sure if it was my natural rebellious attitude (if everyone else is doing it I wasn’t going to follow along), whatever the reason, I didn’t like the Beatles.

Which meant, of course, when the Monkees came along I almost had to like them in self-defense. Good thing they could actually sing. While most girls were in love with short Davy Jones and his English accent (a little like them Beatle guys) Michael Nesmith was my favorite.

So what do you think? Any of this music ring a bell for you? Did the music make you smile?

What music did you listen to in your youth?

What is your favorite musical memory?

What’s your favorite song, from your youth, early married life, or current?

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

