Home Exercise

Staying on the fitness track is NOT easy. However, since Jen over at JVKom encourages her readers with a Fitness Friday, I’m trying.

This week she wants to know our favorite place to work out. Huh? Not only am I supposed to work out to stay healthy, and able to live where I want. Now I have a favorite place?

Home. My house. That’s it, my favorite (?) place to exercise.

First of all, I live in a rural area, driving to a gym, work-out facility, or even a track means a 30 minute drive, one way. That means if I travel, my exercise takes a minimum of 2 hours.  Don’t have time for that!

Second, is price. Using a facility (unless it’s an outdoor track) means paying for the privilege. What? I have to pay to get hot and sweaty? Plus, paying for the use of the room and equipment, there is the gas cost. Which isn’t cheap these days.

Third is the commitment. Since becoming a widow I seem  commitment-phobic. Didn’t have an issue committing to staying with one man “until death did us part.” However, no agreeing to be at a specific place at a certain time,  several times a week is beyond me. Shoot, even agreeing to be there weekly is a challenge.

So, my exercise place of choice (can’t say it’s my favorite) is home. I have a walking video that I enjoy, use when walking outside is beyond me. Since I live in a rural area, I enjoy walking the outer perimeter of our acreage, it’s about a mile walk. And of course, there is the pool. I do love getting in the pool and exercising. Really, I play and call it exercise. In the past the bicycle was an exercise-type activity I enjoyed. Soon it will be added to my list of “exercising” activities.

So, there  you have it, favorite place to exercise, or maybe, the least objectionable place to work out is at home.

Check out Jen and the other friendly fitness folks on her blog here. Do you have a favorite (or least objectionable) place to exercise?

Do you have an exercise routine?

Is exercise as an activity new to you?

For more ideas on how I, and other women, and you can survive and continue a productive, enjoyable life after widowhood check out my book, Beyond the Grief; A Widow’s Survival Guide.

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

