Inspiration Comes from all Sources

What inspires me? That is the question over at JVKom today. Every Friday Jen has posted a fitness link up. Yes, I know I’m a day late, but late is better than not at all. Can’t post without internet access and I was traveling yesterday.

Her it is, my contribution to what inspires me, both in life, and to stay (or become) physically healthy (fit).

First is my family, from the one I grew up in, to the one I married into, and the one my husband and I created. Everyone in my family offers inspiration in different ways.

family

Friends not only inspire me, they encourage me to keep going.

A few Toastmaster Friends

A few Toastmaster Friends

Nature inspires me. Whether it’s God’s handiwork that I only see it in pictures, like the Grand Canyon (some day I may visit it), or it grows in my yard. 

photo via public domain photos.com

1622380_10152013960691384_7648290204079716642_o

 

When man and nature work together,the result is definitely inspirational. The pond built with machinery and man is crowded with the greenery, and sometimes flowers from nature, adding beauty and inspiration.

the pond

 

People of the past who endured hardships many of us can not even imagine, and continue to live full, creative, encouraging lives. Those men and women who serve and served in our military offer their own brand of inspiration.

A Quilt of Valor recipient and his wife. Thank you both for your inspiration.

A Quilt of Valor recipient and his wife. Thank you both for your inspiration.

 

Then there are the women of the past who used whatever materials available to them to create not only warmth and beauty for their homes and families, but inspiration for future generations.

Antique quilt top found at a garage sale. Someone did not realize the treasure they sold.

Antique quilt top found at a garage sale. Someone did not realize the treasure they sold.

Finally, the children inspire me. Watching them run and play encourages me to get up and move so that I can climb hills with my grands.

Climbing the rocks

overcoming those obstacles

Inspiration is all around me. Thanks to Jen at JVKom for having a fitness link up. It’s been fun, and helpful reminder to get out and move every day. This is her last link up, but stay tuned, I may start my own. After all, young or not so young, we all need to stay as fit as possible to enjoy life.

For ideas on first surviving, then living (and enjoying life) as a widow, check out my book, Beyond the Grief; A Widow’s Guide to Survival.

BEYOND THE GRIEF-A WIDOWS SURVIVAL GUIDEEdited to add: I am definitely NOT a computer/tech wizard. In fact I’m not sure technology is talking to me this week since this didn’t post yesterday, which I tried to do and thought had happened. Oh well, done is better than waiting to get something perfect and late is better than not-at-all. 🙂

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspiration Comes from all Sources

  1. jvkom says:

    I love your list of inspiration. I want to visit the Grand Canyon some day too. Thanks for linking up with me over the weeks! Keep up your fitness journey!

Leave a Reply

