New Challenge

I am a challenge challenged, chained to challenges, challenge crazy. Okay, that’s enough. The thing is I do like challenges and am often joining or signing up for them. Sometimes I see them through to the finish, and sometimes not.

According to me, completing the challenge isn’t the most important aspect, learning from it and improving in some way is the reason for the challenge. Which is why I keep signing up for challenges. For the month of August I’m joining Heidi Russon Hicks 30 Days to Declutter and Lose Weight Challenge.

I met Heidi last year at a gathering after a video challenge sponsored by Marisa Murgatroyd. Since I am on a quest to drop weight (I have a thing about saying “lose weight”) and get a usable sewing room set up this challenge seemed perfect. Also, since Jen has changed direction and is no longer doing the Fitness Friday Link up, this is a perfect way for me to stay accountable for fitness.

Not to mention, when I moved into this house (uh-huh, that long ago) I moved from a large seven room house with two baths into a small (as in the rooms themselves are smaller) three room house with two baths.  Okay, one of the three rooms could be divided into two medium-sized rooms.

The thing is I went from way big to way small, it’s like shoving a size 20 body into a size 2 outfit. It doesn’t work, and there’s a lot of overflow. For the most part I make it work, but the result is my “sewing” room is a “junk” room. Hope springs eternal that this will be the challenge that gets me my sewing room back and usable. And, if a few pounds fall off my body along the way, great.

Challenge participants will be posting on the Challenge Facebook page. Since the Fitness Friday is gone, either Thursday or Friday will be a round-up of the previous week’s progress and a list of the goals for the following week.

Here are this week’s goals:

Day #1
Friday, 8/1: There are actually 2 challenges today. 

1. Post a selfie of yourself as your “before” picture on the 30 Day Challenge Facebook Page (or your own page)

2. Write down all of the things you love about your body.

Day #2
Saturday, 8/2: Purge your closet

Day #3
Sunday, 8/3: Get out your nicest jewelry and wear it. Even if it’s with jeans.

Day #4
Monday, 8/4: Spruce up your favorite space in your home.

Day #5
Tuesday, 8/5: Buy yourself flowers.
Day #6
Wednesday, 8/6: Reorganize a drawer in your house.

Day #7
Thursday, 8/7: Take a bubble bath

Day #8
Friday, 8/8: Plan a girls night out and set a date.

There you have it, the goals for decluttering my life and my body this week. We’ll see how it goes. A couple of these “suggestions” will be a real challenge, however there’s bound to be a way to work around them.

If you want to join in the challenge you can sign up here. It’s never too late to start. If you want to play along, but not join, you can follow the suggestions and leave a comment here. Really, join though, Heidi has some great tips and suggestions for completing each task, I’m simply listing them.

Do you feel better when your space is organized, or decluttered?

Have you gained weight that you want to get off your body?

Do you enjoy taking challenges?

For ideas on first surviving, then living (and enjoying life) as a widow, check out my book, Beyond the Grief; A Widow’s Guide to Survival.

BEYOND THE GRIEF-A WIDOWS SURVIVAL GUIDE

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Declutter, Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Challenge

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Declutter Update | Following the Rainbow

Leave a Reply

