Treat Yourself to a Helping of Laughter

Today is “I Love Lucy” Day and National Cake Decorating day.

cake image via beavertonbakery.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Makes sense. While I don’t think Lucy ever tried to decorate a cake, although she did try her hand at baking bread. We can eat a pretty decorated cake and watch an eposide (or two) of I Love Lucy to celebrate Cake Decorating and I Love Lucy Day.

 

Of course it is also National fossil and National Grouch day.  Are grouches old fossils and that’s why they share a day?

Now, are you asking, what does I Love Lucy, cake decorating and grouches have to do with being nice to us, treating ourselves like queens?

Not sure what fossils have to do with anything. However, enjoying an I Love Lucy episode, or two, and/or the movie Grouchy Old Men will make us laugh. Laughter keeps lifts our spirits, and feeling good is a treat we all deserve.

The cake? Everyone likes cake. Cake makes us smile too.

What makes you smile?

What is your favorite show from the past?

What  was the last movie that made you laugh out loud?

Joining the Ultimate Blog Challenge and blogging on one subject, treating yourself nice, throughout October.

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in 31 Days, Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Treat Yourself to a Helping of Laughter

  1. Amy says:

    What a fun day–cake AND Lucy! No wonder everybody loves Lucy–she still makes us laugh!

  2. Ashley Gulla says:

    I didn’t realize there were so many “National Days” haha! I don’t think I could narrow down my favorite movies or old shoes, soo many!

  3. shericonaway says:

    I have always been a fan of “I Love Lucy” and Lucille Ball in particular. Just thinking about her and the show causes favorite episodes to pop into my head (“Slowly I turned”, the grape stomping and the candy factory, to name a few). Laughter is definitely the best medicine. As my daughter bakes and decorates cakes (and is studying culinary arts), I do see my share of beautiful cakes, and even contribute, on occasion, to the flavor or design. Check out this post for a few examples of her work. They are definitely drool worthy! http://survivingandbeyond.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/october-10-2014-breaking-tradition-for-a-worthy-cause-shericonaway-blogboost/

Leave a Reply

