Posted in Uncategorized

Traveling Tuesday

Traveling Tuesday

 

Try. Try. Try again seems to be the process for this blog.

I Wrote a menu/food post for yesterday’s blog. However, my internet, my technical expertise (or lack of), or a combination of the two combined to prevent anyone from reading the post.

When I first started this widow journey I left my house almost every day, to go some place, I didn’t care where. I went to visit friends and family, I went driving, to the library,  to the store, any place was good as long as it wasn’t here.

Of course, I was back by sunset. No way was I ready to enter this empty house alone.

It wasn’t dark, I left every light in the house on. It wasn’t quiet, the radio, or television (sometimes both) was blaring.

However, there was nothing I could do to make it not be empty.

Day by day things began to change. I stayed out past sundown. I stayed home two, or three days in a row. My reason for leaving had more substance. I joined a Toastmasters group. I joined a quilting group.

In recent months I have enjoyed a different kind of traveling. Last fall I took a Quilting, Fall Foliage Tour.  No pictures of the foliage, however, lots of pictures of quilts. Here’s one:Geese in flight quilt

There were about 50 quilters on the tour, from all across the United States, and Brazil. Traveling and trying to converse with the Brazilian ladies added another dimension to the trip. They were willing to pose in a trolley cab in one of the museums we visited.

Brazilian ladies on Train in NewEngland.

This summer started with my kids all getting together for a day, then having a family vacation.

IMG_0879

A few weeks later, I did some major phone calling and then drove up to the city to meet with my cousin’s wife and her disabled son for lunch with actor Mark Harmon.

IMG_1172

Last month the three of us made a road trip to California. Of course the picture I have says, ” Arizona.” But, hey, we had to go through Arizona to get to California.

IMG_1326

Not to say I don’t still enjoy traveling closer to home and day trips. Today is such a day. I will be driving to town (just an hour away) to attend a writing class and then have a girl’s afternoon with a friend. We plan to watch a movie, eat supper, and visit. It will be an epic, close to home traveling day.

 

What about you? Will you be traveling near or far this week or this month?

Are you a traveler or a stay-at-homer?

What is your favorite thing about traveling?

What is your favorite thing about staying home?

 

 

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

Leave a Reply

