Posted in Food, Menu Monday

Menu Monday

Boston food market cropped 

Fellow writer, California Girl, and friend Dee, from Life with Dee, has inspired me to do Menu Monday Posts. It’s possible that with the Monday Menus I’ll make some of the recipes I keep collecting.  Remember, I said “possible” not a sure thing.

Back in another lifetime, when my husband was alive and the kids were at home I made weekly plans to help with the grocery shopping.  Even after the kids left home, we often planned our meals according to the sales.

One hope is that the plans will result in healthier meals for me, and not so many healthy additions to the compost pile because I let a food rot. Another is, by planning I can include leftover meals. Which means less cooking. Yay.

Okay, now you know what and why. With that here is the plan for this week.

Monday – September 5

     I’ll be home all day cleaning house and doing yard work so today is a slow cooker meal day.

           Pork roast, potatoes, carrots, celery in slow cooker

          Fried potatoes and okra (save the slow cooker potatoes for another day.)

Tuesday – September 6

     Oh my gosh. Today is an on-the-go day. Writing class in the morning, lunch in town with a friend, then either Toastmasters or a football game in the evening. Supper will be salad in a jar that I can take with me.

Wednesday – September 7

     Leftover roast from Monday with the potatoes.

      Steamed broccoli and cauliflower

Thursday – September 8

     Zucchini noodles with no-tomato marinara sauce, sausage, mozzarella cheese

     Salad

Friday – September 9

     Will be spending the day watching two of my grandchildren show their livestock. That means eating at the show, or in town.

Saturday – September 10

        Spending the day celebrating birthdays with grands. Eating with family and sharing birthday cake.

Sunday – September 11

     Roast sandwich (and I still have a serving of roast in the freezer for later.)

     Carrots, celery, and cauliflower

 

That’s my menu plan for the week. What’s yours?

Do you make a menu plan or wing-it?

What’s your favorite go-to food when you don’t have time (or inclination) to cook a meal?

 

 

 

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

Leave a Reply

