Posted in Food, Menu Monday

Menu Monday

Last week I tried my first menu Monday. It flopped.

Oh, the menu lists were fine. The follow-through lacked umph. In fact, I think the only thing completed was cooking the roast. I didn’t eat the roast, just cooked it. It is now resting in individual serving size containers in my freezer for future meals.

Which means I will try again this week to make a menu list, and follow it. At least one day eat what is planned.

Monday (today)

Had errands in town, and thought grandson had a ballgame. Game didn’t happen, but since wasn’t planning on eating at home had nothing planned. Instead had a:

Smorgasbord, or maybe it was potluck of veggies in fridge.

Tuesday

Writing class is today and lunch with friends afterwards, followed by a quick trip to the grocery store. I’ll be in the mood for something simple for supper. So breakfast for supper it will be.

Eggs and sausage. Cheesy hash browns if I’m in the mood to try them.

Wednesday

Wednesday is critique day,  which includes lunch, followed by yoga, in a different town, and a visit with my son and his family. Super will be super simple:

Pasta. I might try sautéing the squash instead of using wheat noodles. Probably not.

Thursday

Doctor appointment in  morning and Toastmaster meeting in the evening in Okmulgee. Since I leave before dinner (supper) time for the meeting I may have a meal on the road.

Friday

Friday night is football night. I’ve been wanting to try out a mac and cheese idea. I’ll try it, and take the leftovers to my son’s for his family to try and let me know what they think.

Mac and Cheese experiment

Saturday

Grilled pork chops with any veggies left in fridge.

Sunday

I may go to the city and visit sister and cousin. While there I’ll do some grocery shopping for next week’s menu and eat.

 

There you have it. A menu list for this week that may or may not be followed. What about you?

Do you have a menu plan?

Do you follow any menu plan?

What’s your favorite “go-to” meal when you are too exhausted to think about cooking?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

Leave a Reply

