What’s for Dinner?

The third time’s the charm.

Right?

 

If not, don’t tell me. Because here I go, trying a Monday Menu List one more time. The first time was a complete bomb. I don’t think I prepared or ate any of the foods planned. The next try fared a little better.

firestarter-headshot

At least the roast got cooked and eaten. Even if it wasn’t on the prescribed days, or manner.

So, here we go again.

Monday

I’ll be home all day. At least until I go to my son’s in the afternoon. Perfect day for some prepping and pre-cooking.  I found a Taco skillet recipe to try and an avocado tuna salad for later in the week. For lunch today I’ll grill:

Pork chops, potato, and squash

Supper will be a salad before I leave the house.

Tuesday 

Today is writing class day, and lunch with a friend afterwards.

Supper will be the taco skillet made Monday.

Wednesday 

Wednesday is critique day, and lunch with my critique partners. Afterwards I’ll do yoga, and work-out on my son’s elliptical.

Supper will be the tuna avocado salad made on Monday.

Thursday 

Today is Toastmaster day in Duncan, a 2 1/2 hour drive. lunch will be spaghetti and a salad, and supper will be a snack tray of fruits, veggies, and cheese that I’ll put together.

Friday 

Whoo-hoo another day of being home all day. At least until time to leave for the football game. That still gives me plenty of time to cook.

First up will be chicken soup. I don’t eat soup often. But, when I’m sick I want chicken soup.

Problem is, I don’t like canned soup nowadays, and when I’m sick, I don’t feel like cooking. So, why not make the soup now and have it in the freezer?

Also, my sweet cousin-in-law gave me a recipe for meat muffins. Actually, it’s meatloaf cooked in muffin cups. They were super good when she prepared them for me this summer, so I want to try them. Now that I have an oven again, and fall temperatures seem to have arrived, it’s the perfect time to try them.

While I’m at it, I will also try a loaded potato chicken casserole. Although in my case it may be a pork chop casserole. Depends on if there’s any chicken left or not. This will also be supper for Friday, while the rest will go in the freezer for another day.

Saturday

I’ll be going to Tulsa for the Toastmaster speech contest. They usually feed us lunch, so that’s easy. Supper will be a potluck of leftovers.

Sunday

I plan to kick back. Turn the computer on and watch my shows. I’m going to graze on finger foods, and healthy snacks most of the day. No planned meals.

Although I will attempt to make a plan for the following week.

 

What are you eating this week?

Do you plan your meals in advance?

What’s your favorite go-to food when you don’t want to cook?

 

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Food, Menu Monday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

