Posted in Menu Monday, Ultimate Blog Challenge

Monday Menu Plan

Here we go again. Attempting the Monday Menu. According to Yoda, from Star Wars (I had to look it up, I’m not a Star Wars person, but I’d heard that quote) there choices are: “do or do not do, there is no try.”

If there’s no “try” I will do a menu plan. How well I succeed at following it remains to be seen. So far I haven’t been very successful.

However, it is a new month, new day, new attempt.

Monday

I’ll be home all day. Which means I will pre-cook some food for later in the week.

Breakfast: oatmeal pudding with blueberries.

Lunch: Salmon patties with a spinach salad. I’m going to cook some chicken legs for a slow-cooker chicken noodle soup recipe.

Supper: grilled pork chops and squash

Pre-cooking: chicken legs for soup, roasting chicken thighs, cooking a skillet southwest pork burger mix.

Tuesday 

Today is either writing class day, or fair day.

If writing class, I’ll be in town most of the day. Toastmasters is in the evening. Then before going home I’ll swing by the store afterwards to buy some groceries to finish cooking this week. If I go to the fair to watch my granddaughter show her animals the only thing that will change food-wise is lunch.

Breakfast: oatmeal pudding

Lunch: in town with friends after class. If at the fair I may eat fair food, or have the southwest burger mix with veggies.

Supper: Roasted chicken bites with cheese and grapes (assuming grapes are on sale, if not some other easy to eat fruit) Veggie bag of carrots, and cauliflower to snack on.

Wednesday 

Wednesday is critique day, and lunch with my critique partners. Afterwards I’ll do yoga, and work-out on my son’s elliptical. Again, it’s possible I will be at the fair.

Breakfast: Green smoothie

Lunch: with friends if at critique. If at the fair either fair food (only if I didn’t indulge on Tuesday) or snack foods I’ll pack and take with me.

Supper: Salmon patty sandwich with chips. Yes, I know chips aren’t healthy, but I’m going to want something I can just sit down and eat while I watch my shows. No thinking involved.

Thursday 

Today is Toastmaster day in Okmulgee.

Breakfast: Try out the cauliflower, avocado, egg dish I saved because it looks so good.

Lunch:  Spaghetti

Supper: Taco pinwheels I’ll take to the meeting for refreshments and veggies.

Friday 

Whoo-hoo another day of being home all day. At least until time to leave for the football game. Unless I go to Tulsa for the last day of showing at the fair, or give a presentation to a woman’s group. Plan for the day are still up in the air.

Breakfast: oatmeal pudding with blueberries

Lunch: If I go to the fair I will clean out the fridge of veggies and finger foods. So potluck. If I go to the football game or do the presentation, smothered pork patties with roasted potatoes and Brussel sprouts.

Supper: If I go to the fair, I’ll eat my favorite low-calorie fast food from TacoMayo. Not sure if they are nation-wide or not, I do know they are Oklahoma based. They have a couple of dishes, The Big Bowl, that are tasty, low calorie, and low cost. Three things I like.

If I do the presentation, or go to the football game I’ll have time to cook. My sweet cousin-in-law gave me a recipe for meat muffins. Actually, it’s meatloaf cooked in muffin cups. They were super good when she prepared them for me this summer, so I want to try them. Now that I have an oven again, and fall temperatures seem to have arrived, it’s the perfect time to try them.

While I’m at it, I will also try a loaded potato chicken casserole. Although in my case it may be a pork chop casserole. Depends on if there’s any chicken left or not.

Extras of both the meat muffins and loaded potato chicken casserole will go in the freezer for next week.

Saturday

It looks like I will be home all day.

Breakfast: bacon and eggs with avocado. Cook extra bacon for lunch.

Lunch: Bacon, spinach, avocado and tomato sandwich with carrot and celery sticks.

Supper: Spaghetti with salad

Sunday

I plan to kick back. Turn the computer on and watch my shows. I’m going to graze on finger foods, and healthy snacks most of the day. No planned meals.

Although I will attempt to make a plan for the following week.

 

What are you eating this week?

Do you plan your meals in advance?

What’s your favorite go-to food when you don’t want to cook?

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

8 thoughts on “Monday Menu Plan

    1. Eating out on the anniversary is almost mandatory isn’t it? Happy anniversary. Enjoy your meal and your time together.

    1. Balanced? Since I was aiming for, healthish, easy, and inexpensive, balanced is good. I love cooking on the grill, minimum clean-up. I haven’t done as much of it this year as I’d like. Lucky the weather is still nice enough to continue. Thanks for stopping.

  1. Your menu looks delicious! I’m actually doing a liquid detox for the next 3-days so maybe the wrong day to read this one as I just started the detox today 😉 After the 3 days of smoothies and juices I’ll do a few days of soups and then it’s back to normal. You should post some of your recipes, I’ll come back next week after my detox and try some of them out 🙂 Have a great week!

    1. Thanks for suggesting recipes. I’ll start adding them, or at least the directions for what I cook. My goal is to post the menu plan every Monday. I hope to see you back in a couple of weeks when you’re eating solid food again. Good luck with the detox.

    1. Just because there’s a plan, doesn’t mean it gets followed. I’m working on that. What does that word, “organized” mean? It’s foreign to me. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

