Fitness Friday

 

Ever since I “won” a trip to the city, in an ambulance, because my heart wanted to do its own dance, I have worked on eating healthier and moving more.

fast-ambulance-stock-photo

Too bad my body has been more stubborn than me and has held on to the fat and excess weight.

Enough already. I bought a generic step counter to measure my walking. It is surprising how few steps I take in a day. Moving hands across the keyboard, or sewing, doesn’t count.

If you need, or just want, to add more moving and exercise to your life I hope my struggles will encourage you. My current exercise regimen includes, walking, with or without company, yoga once a week, and modified pushups. Come along and exercise with me.

img_26611

I will post my successes (or failures) here each Friday. If the weight ever drops, I’ll let you know that too.

Although, even with the weight clinging on, I have noticed that the extra movement has helped my breathing.

Funny, turns out that breathing aspect is super important.

Also, I am able to do more things now. So the exercise is helping, I just wish it would carve the weight off faster.

This week’s report:

Friday (9/30/) – 1 mile walk (more or less)

Saturday (10/1) – 6000 steps

Sunday (10/2) – 1 mile walk

Monday (10/3) – 1 mile walk, 20 modified push-ups

Tuesday (10/4) –1 mile at the Allen walking track, after a writing class, and lunch with a friend.

I thought 3000 steps was a mile. However, when I walked the 1 mile track I was short several steps. When I got home, I remeasured what I thought was my one mile route.

Next time I walk the track, I’ll see how many steps exactly (or more or less) makes up a mile.

img_26631

Wednesday (10/5)- 6000 steps. Most of it at the fair with lots of rest stops. Also about a half hour of yoga. Class is an hour long, but I have a hernia which was giving me problems. Still, some yoga is better than no yoga.

Thursday (10/6) – 3000 steps, bad day. At least I got one mile in. Thank goodness for the ladies at Toastmaster. After the meeting we went for a walk which helped me get my steps in.

 

Do you have an exercise routine?

What is your favorite way to exercise?

What helps motivate you to exercise?

 

Day 7 of the UBC (ultimate blog challenge)

 

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

