Posted in Ultimate Blog Challenge

In the Beginning

When I started this blog (ahem) last year it had several purposes.

  • Help me connect with other widows.
  • Allow me to share information about the journey
  • Let others share their experiences and information
  • Help promote my book, BEYOND THE GRIEF; A Widow’s Survival Guide
  • Keep me focused and working on the memoir.

Big problem. For some reason I quit posting. Not good. Without regular posts, others had no way to find me. No way to connect, not way to share information, or learn from others. No promoting BEYOND THE GRIEF, in fact I even took it down, for a short time-which has been way too long.  The memoir, is still in the computer on about chapter two.

Lucky for me the Ultimate Blog Challenge started again. This time I remembered to sign up for it. I love challenges. They help keep me focused and moving forward, or at least not falling too far backward.

One of the benefits of this challenge is the habit building of writing and posting daily. The challenge is one month, which is long enough to set a habit. Whether I will continue to post every day or not once the challenge ends remains to be seen. However, at least I’ll be in the habit of writing one daily.

First order of business is to change the title of the blog. Beyond the Grief is a good title, I used it for the book after all. However, this blog is about more than just getting past the mind-numbing grief. It’s about taking control of our lives again. It’s about finding joy in our new life. It’s about preventing the stress in my life (our lives?) from getting me down. Instead, allowing the stress to create a diamond within.

After all isn’t that how diamonds are made? Stress and pressure applied to coal until the coal transforms into a beautiful diamond? The title changed to Diamond in the Making, oops, it came out Creating Diamonds.

Being a widow, like most stressful situations, affects every area of our lives. Which means I’m liable to post on any and everything; exercise (yuck), goals and dreams, eating (love food, which is one reason I need to exercise,) cooking (not my favorite, but necessary to eat the foods I love,) fashion (meh,) decorating, finance, travel, and who knows what else.

 

Which do you like better, Diamond in the Making or Creating Diamonds?

What stresses you the most?

How does stress or pressures of life affect you?

When do you feel like a diamond?

This is post eight for the Ultimate Blog Challenge.

 

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

Leave a Reply

