If it Doesn’t Work, Try Changing It – New Menu Plan

definition-of-insanity-on-grand-canyon

If the quote is correct, making and posting a menu list isn’t getting the job done. Now I’m trying something new. Instead of posting what I hope to eat next week, I’ll post what I ate last week. Maybe that will help me be more organized in my eating. Maybe it will give you some menu ideas. Maybe we’ll all be healthier.

Hey, a girl can dream can’t she?

Sunday

I had some chicken legs and thighs in the freezer. I’d planned on making chicken noodle soup. Except, no noodles. Instead, I barbequed the chicken legs in the slow cooker and baked the thighs. I was too lazy to prepare any veggies to go with them, so on Sunday I had a protein filled meal of barbeque chicken legs. Supper was a green smoothie.

Monday

Since I baked the chicken thighs yesterday, that was lunch today. Since I had some spinach in the fridge, I used it as a lettuce. Spread some mashed avocado on a tortilla shell, top with spinach and chicken. At least I got some veggies in with the protein (meat) today.

Tuesday

Had my staples taken out, so my chauffer, and friend, and I ate in town for lunch.Had smothered pork chops, mashed potatoes and corn. I had ordered green beans, but the waitress made a mistake. No matter, I like corn too. Even had a piece of coconut pie for dessert. Afterwards I was fuller than full so only had some roast for supper.

Wednesday

Yesterday I’d put a pork roast in the slow cooker before heading off to the doctor. Since I’d only had a little bite of it for supper yesterday, on Wednesday I dived it up into  four serving sizes. Three went in the freezer, I’m getting better.

For the last piece of roast, I heated it up, cooked a potato and some cauliflower, mashed them together, added some green beans. Perfect lunch. supper was a green smoothie.

img_27871

Thursday 

Tried making a potato patty with the leftover cauliflower/potato mash, it was edible, but it didn’t look like I wanted. Added some sausage and a couple of fried eggs. Breakfast for lunch. Supper was another green smoothie.

Friday

My doctored up goulash. I added green beans, corn, and cheese, to the sausage and pasta. Made so much it was both lunch and supper.

Saturday

Went to town to pick up meds and milk. Had a fast food lunch of a fish sandwich and root beer. For supper I tried a single serving of Marsha’s Mix. I don’t know what it’s really called, my friend Marsha came up with it upteen years ago. I wanted some refried beans to go with it, but didn’t have any so made my own. They were okay, they’ll be better next time made with my fresh cooked beans. I tried the cauliflower rice. Not bad, especially since I added tomatoes and peppers to it. Added half an avocado and a corn tortilla. The tortilla would’ve been better if I’d toasted it, but it worked.

img_27921

Sunday

Son sent home leftovers for me so I wouldn’t have to cook. He said he was cleaning out the refrigerator. Whatever, food for me that I just have to heat up is always welcome. Especially since both he and my daughter-in-law are excellent cooks. Lunch for Sunday was chicken and dumplings and brown beans.

That was my food for the week. How about you?

What did you eat?

What is your favorite meal?

Are you a fan of leftovers?

Leave  your comments and ideas here in the comment section, or join me on Facebook.

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

