Posted in grief healing tools, holidays

Gratitude List of Gifts From Husband Helps The Holidays

I am a pantzer, I do things by the seat of my pants with little to no planning for a good reason; planning never seems to work. Something almost always changes “the plan.”

journal-and-pen-for-planning

One plan I have stayed with for the last several years is my gratitude list for November.  Here in the United States, this month, and Thanksgiving, puts gratitude on everyone’s mind.

Facebook and twitter, and probably other social media, will soon be swarming with gratitude posts.   A year or so after my husband’s death I was in a quandary about my blessings.

Oh sure, I had plenty; a roof over my head, food to eat (too much food), a car for traveling, funds to pay bills, light, and many more blessings. However, I didn’t have the one thing I wanted, my husband.

daily-gratitude

To make the gratitude journey easier I began to list some of my blessings that are a direct result of knowing, loving, and being married to him.

I have continued to use that as my basis every year since then. Yes, many of the blessings stay the same from year to year, our children, grandchildren, in-laws, his family and others. However, every year it seems I think of some new blessing I hadn’t mentioned before.

This month, as in recent years, I will be grateful for my blessings from my husband.

Today I am grateful for our house. This is the first house we have owned, we rented for years because it was the best plan for us. However, shortly before his death he signed the paperwork for this house.

my-house

 

The house represents security, no one can kick me out because they need the house for one of their relatives, it’s my/our house. It is also a connection to my husband. So, for today, Nov. 1, I am thankful for my house.

HPIM1951.JPG

Join me in gratitudes of gifts from your husband. You can post them here in the comments, on my facebook page, on my twitter page with the hashtag #giftsfromhusband,  or on your blog and leave a link.

 

What are you grateful to have as a result of knowing,  and loving your husband?

Have you ever made a gratitude list?

 

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

Leave a Reply

