Posted in family, Ultimate Blog Challenge

Starting the New Year on a Note of Happiness with a Happiness Jar

Starting out the New Year on a note of happy. Whether this is your first full year without your spouse,  or another year without your mate, you can assure yourself a happy ending with a happiness jar.

I learned about the happiness jar in the middle of last year, so my notes of happiness is a littler smaller than it will be next New Year’s day.

img_31791Still, there quite a few notes. Reading them brings back memories of an enjoyable event and makes me smile again.

I date mine so I know when the event happened, just in case I forget.

Here are a couple of my happiness notes:

May 29 – all my kids and grands together

beshear-family

June 17 – attend barbeque with cousins Teresa and Jared, meet Mark Harmon.

mark-harmon-and-jared-pickle
Cousin Jared with actor Mark Harmon

Nov 28 – Have a whole row of seats to myself on flight home.

Sometimes the event is photo-worthy, and I remember to take a picture. Other times, no photo reminder. Which is why the notes are so important. You might wonder why I made a note of having a row of seats to myself.  However, if you’ve ever ridden in one of those sardine cans they call airplanes you understand what a big deal that was.

See? Nice memories to make me smile.  As a bonus, anytime I’ve having a rough day or week, the notes are there. I can pull out a few from the bottom, because they will be the oldest, read them and let them lift my spirits before returning them to the jar.

To make your own happiness jar, you just need a jar, with or without a lid.  A wide-mouth mason jar works great, or a coffee container, anything that will hold small slips of paper.  If you’re crafty, you can decorate it up to fit your personality and décor. Or you can leave it plain and simple. I went with a bowl because I didn’t have a jar I liked handy and I wanted to get started.

bowl-of-happiness-2016

This same bowl will be a good starter this year, will switch to a bigger bowl, or container later in the year.  Put your container, jar, bowl, box, where you see it every day and you have easy access to it.

Seeing it every day will remind you to look for the “happy” in the day, and record it. Easy access means you won’t put it off until a better time. Mine sits on the dining room table, or sometimes on my bookcase, either way it’s easy.

Leaving a notebook, or paper and pen or pencil in or near the jar also makes the recording a simple matter. No need to go looking.

I use a small spiral notebook. Write my note, tear it out, fold it, and put it in the jar (in my case bowl.)

 

What do you think of the happiness jar?

Have you used a happiness jar in the past?

Will you try one this year?

 

Leave me a note in the comments section letting sharing your thoughts on the happiness jar. If you’re crafty and you decorate yours, please share a picture.

This post is part of the Ultimate Blog Challenge.

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

5 thoughts on “Starting the New Year on a Note of Happiness with a Happiness Jar

    1. Thanks for stopping and commenting Mayura Amarkant (I hope that’s right), and thanks so much for leaving a link to your blog. I loved reading it and you made it so easy. I hope you do use the Happiness Jar with your husband. Then at the end of the year, you and he can enjoy again all your wonderful experiences.

Leave a Reply

