Posted in Adventure, Ultimate Blog Challenge

Let the Wild Child Out; Embrace Your Inner Rebel

 

img_2393

After we had been married a lot of years, maybe 20 or so, I asked my husband what first attracted him to me.

He said, “I saw you walking down the sidewalk and you had writing on your jeans. I thought, I have to meet that girl who writes on her jeans.”

We were in college, it was 1971, girls did not write on their jeans. In fact, girls had just started wearing jeans in public, at least the girls in my world. I had a boring night class and wrote on the knee of my jeans to stay awake. Of course, the ink didn’t all come out in the wash.

I think I was intrigued with him because he was a bit of a rebel too. He was going to school to be an Agricultural teacher, but he wasn’t a cowboy. His hair was on the long side, and he had several shirts with the sleeves cut out. His music was eclectic, a little bit country, a little bit rock and roll, and a little Motown.

david-nita-1972-cropped

There we were, two rebels hooking up in a straight-laced traditional world. We got married. He graduated college and got a job. We hid most of our wildness in an attempt to appear as if we were proper, responsible adults. He sometimes allowed his wild child to come out and play. I didn’t, I was afraid I’d never get her back under cover.

After he retired we talked about doing some out-of-the ordinary activities, but then he got sick. Which was definitely out-of-the-ordinary.

Once the fog began to life after his death, I let my wild child out by coloring my hair purple. I haven’t gotten her back in her box yet.

We continue to explore the unexpected. I’ve tried different colors for my hair. I even met a celebrity and had my picture taken with him when my hair was green.

img_0610

No one color sticks, I keep coming back to the natural blonde/grey. My little cousin styled my hair for me, and we took a picture of the styling process.

img_1778

 

A friend and I bought crowns, to reward ourselves with when we accomplish a goal. Sometimes we even wear them.

Not all of the wildness is outrageous, or visible to others. I wear mis-matched socks, on purpose. Sometimes I eat dessert first. When friends and I meet for our weekly lunch, I look for something different to order rather than the same thing every time.

I even have pictures of myself taken, or my wild child takes them. Then she shares them with others. Did you see the picture of me with my hair in my face?

My wild child appreciates that I look for ways to let her free. It doesn’t matter if my friends frown, because we didn’t do the expected, or my kids roll their eyes. What is important is that I live and enjoy life.

This is post 3 for the Ultimate Blog Challenge.  

 

Do you ever give your wild child free reign?

What would you like to do but don’t because it’s not what an adult does?

What would happen if you did something out of the ordinary?

How can you embrace your inner rebel, wild child?

Let me know what you think in the comments.

  

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

14 thoughts on “Let the Wild Child Out; Embrace Your Inner Rebel

  1. Great post Nita. I’ve mostly been a “Follow the Rules” person, but I started to let my wild side loose over the past 10 years. It’s been liberating. I read a book called “Wild at Heart.” It was mostly targeted for men who are forced to be more buttoned up when all they really want to do is run wild. This was very freeing. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Following the rules is not a bad thing, after all many rules have a purpose. However, letting loose and doing the unexpected every once in a while is liberating, and uplifting as you’ve noticed. I’m glad you found a way to encourage you to turn “run wild” every so often.

  2. Your story warmed my heart and reminded me to find ways to have fun, express myself, and let go every now and then. I have a feeling that once my two teenage boys are out of the house (a day I’m not looking forward to!) that there will be a bit more of this.

    1. I’m glad you let go periodically. Yep, you’ll probably do it more after the boys leave. Warning, they may roll their eyes at your antics. That’s okay, it just means you’re doing it right.

  3. This is quite delightful. I’ve never tried writing on my jeans and probably won’t. I do like to paint on all sorts of surfaces. My inner child sometimes comes out to visit when she isn’t taking a long nap.

  4. I like to think I have a balance of ‘Follow the Rules’ and ‘Who Cares!’ attitude. I try to have fun in whatever I am doing – and it sometime ticks people off. That is their problem, not mine!

    Thanks for sharing and bring back memories of when I wrote on my jeans as well! I remember getting all my friends to ‘sign’ my jeans for some reason or another.

  5. I also used to write on my jeans and boy did I get in trouble but better than my hand as I got in more trouble for doing that. I used to always let the Rebel in me out but after my daughter was killed I hid it as it was here I did those things with. But now that I have my son I seem to do more crazy things just to get him to laugh. coloring my hair red or us cutting his into Mohawk and painting it red knowing my dad would freak out. Or dancing in the rain. Because tomorrow may never come so enjoy it today is my moto and why we did Christmas a week early.

  6. My (grown) children are certain that my oft-repeated statement that growing old is certain, growing up is much less so is among my basic tenets. My 60s attitudes still prevail and my activism only is slowed down. About as much as my gait has.

  7. love the photos – each of them shows a different wild side – each one unique, each one beautiful.. and yes, letting the inner child out every once in a while is good..- feels wonderful too and most of the times that i have seen, manages to bring smiles on faces all around too (and regarding my kids, right now, at 14 and 10, they do smile too even when i might be embarrassing them with my inner child and i am thankful for them)
    thank you for the post

Leave a Reply

