Posted in Thankful Thursday, Ultimate Blog Challenge

Reasons to be Grateful

thank-you-wordcloud

It’s Thankful Thursday across the internet.

 

Gratitude seems to be a buzz word these days. People blog about it, tweet about it, mention it on Facebook, they may even take pictures of it for Instagram. The word and idea is everywhere.

Traditional ways to acknowledge blessings:

·        Write them down, in a journal or list

·        Share them online, on Facebook, Twitter, other social media

·        Pray them

 What if you just don’t feel thankful? What if you’re dealing with the illness or death of a loved one? What if you just lost your job? What if the pressures of life are pressing against you from every direction? What if you just don’t feel blessed.

How can you have a grateful heart when your world is falling apart? Get creative with your thankfulness. Find one gratitude, just one. There’s no pressure in finding one thing you’re grateful for in the midst of chaos.

Cling to that one thing.

Then, do like I did, and borrow and idea from Dr. Amrita. On her blog HealthWealth, she posted about reasons she is grateful.

Try listing 3-10, or any number you like, reasons you’re grateful for a particular blessing.

Sure, you’re thankful you have a roof over your head. But what is it about your particular roof that makes it so great?

I’ll start: Why I’m Grateful for my house.

my-house

1. It is our dream place. When I’m outside I can picture my husband in the garden area, or working on the pens in the pasture. It makes me smile to know he loved this place.

2. It is ours. It is our first home we owned. We rented for most of our lives for several reasons, but mostly because he was a teacher and we didn’t want to have to sell if he changed schools. Of course, it helped that the house we rented was super affordable and allowed us to raise our kids and pigs.

3. It is not in town, or a subdivision, or close to others. Eventually, I will have to move either to town, or closer for everyone else’s peace of mind. But for now, I’m here in a rural area that I love.

4. There are people close enough to help me if needed. Like when my friend Kathy took me to the hospital because I couldn’t breathe. (Did ya’ll know that breathing is very important to feeling well? Who knew? J)

5. There is not one, but two ponds on this place. I love water.

the pond

6. There is internet available at this house. I know it sounds strange, but out here in the boondocks sometimes internet connections either are non-existent, are dial-up (yes, dial-up still exists), or are spotty at best. I have decent internet most days.

7. I can have livestock if I want. I have had chickens, cattle and pigs. Currently just wildlife enjoys my pasture.

8. There are deer here. Sometimes they come in my yard.

9. There are trees that add shade and beauty. They add enough shade around the house that I can delay turning on the air-conditioner.

img_22371

10.        Birds are in abundance here. They live, or visit the trees. In the Spring and Summer their chirping and singing brightens my day. The hummingbirds delight me with their zipping and zapping in for feed and out again.

20130617_072739-2 

There you have it, 10 reasons I’m thankful for my house.

What one thing are you thankful for?

What is one reason you’re grateful for it?

Do you make a list of your gratitude’s and share it?

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

12 thoughts on “Reasons to be Grateful

    1. Sometimes the simple pleasures are the best. When the outside temps drop below freezing, a warm house is a super blessing.

  1. I’m grateful that my house is far enough out of the city that I can see the brillant stars at night, watch the birds and have a cozy, warm fireplace….when I can keep the fire going! : )

  2. I love this!! Absolutely love it. I, too, am always looking for things to be grateful for. Today I am thankful that I have a job. It’s something I love doing (teaching). It’s a transferable skill. I can do it from anywhere (with technology these days). I’m making a difference in people’s lives. It pays enough to cover my bills. I set my own schedule.

  3. Great post and beautiful house and yard! I am grateful for so many things but the one thing that I’m super greatful for is the success 12 surgery my 20 year old granddaughter had on a tumor that was intangled in her spinal column. The surgeon prepared us for the worse, paralysis but with all the prayers and God guiding the surgeon’s hands, things turned out well. I am so grateful for having this nightmare have a happy ending.

    1. Your granddaughter and your family are for sure blessed to have a wonderful happy ending to such a horrific nightmare. Thank you for sharing.

  4. My word of the year 2017 is Gratitude and I maintain a gratitude journal to write down things I am grateful for in the morning and then again at night to mention what lovely things happened in the day – counting my blessings in such small ways has really helped me measure my life in a far better way than when I was looking outside at everyone’ homes, incomes, love life………….
    Thankfulness within overcomes so many fears and guilt- I love the way you have documented your gratitude and when I think of my home in terms of your article- I find myself checking off most of your list.

    1. I started doing daily gratitudes a few years ago. Starting, or ending the day (or both) with thoughts of gratitude do help me keep a positive attitude. Gratitude is a great word for 2017, mine is focus. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. lovely post, Nita! And a great home.. i love water too and the pond looks so beautiful. I am thankful everyday for the little things that bring a smile to my face and a daily gratitude journal sounds good.. but I am planning to work on a weekly happiness mason jar for the family with my little girl which might just be more doable 🙂

    1. I think you and your family will enjoy the happiness jar. At the end of the year when you relive some of those moments I hope you laugh hysterically a time or two.

Leave a Reply

