Black Eye Pea Patty – Another Way to Serve The Dried Pea

Beans, beans good for your heart

Beans, beans at the mart

Beans, beans good for your heart

Beans, beans in your cart.

 

Ok, that’s not how that little ditty goes. But, the words I learned as a child, and the ones my children (especially the boys) like to use aren’t considered lady-like or adult. While there may be some question as to when, if ever, I am lady-like or act adult, I try to pretend once in awhile.

However, you might be adult, so I changed the words up a teeny, tiny bit.

As this blog grows, and I become more consistent with posting (thank you Ultimate Blog Challenge.) Fridays will be about fitness and food. Today, it’s food. Enjoy.  

Also I’m not sure a black-eyed pea is a bean (even if I do use the word interchangeably. Am on a quest to find the difference between dry bean and dry pea.

In the meantime, what can be done with a pot of beans (peas) besides eating them by the bowlful? Because even I get tired of that.

bean-pot

After cooking the black-eye peas for New Years Day, I had an abundance left. Ate some the next day, then froze the rest in serving sizes. Yesterday, I took one of the packages from the freezer to eat. It was cold, peas (beans) sounded like a good plan. However, by supper the idea of peas did not appeal to me.

What to do? 

I found several recipes online for Pea Patties, or Pea fritters. Of course, I didn’t have everything needed for most of them, except one from the food network. You know the rebel in me couldn’t follow it exactly.

 First, it called for deep-frying. I love deep fried foods. But, they’re a lot of trouble and I wasn’t going to do it.

Second, it called for a chopped up onion. I had an onion, however it was big and I didn’t want to chop onion. Totally forgot I had chopped onion in the freezer. Oh well, next time.

I had noticed one ingredient missing from this recipe that was in most of the others, bacon. Of course, that’s one reason I went with it, I didn’t have any bacon thawed out or cooked. Instead, I used bacon grease for pan frying. I always save my bacon grease.

 

Recipe:

1 Cup cooked peas (I used juice and all, next time I’ll try draining them)

1 Egg (which I omitted, they didn’t need the extra moisture, maybe next time)

¼ teaspoon of salt (since I under salt most of my food, this was needed, you may not)

¼ teaspoon pepper

1 Tablespoon onion powder (real onion chopped up would have been better, about ¼ cup I think)

¼ teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon baking powder

¼ Cup flour (for binding, next time I’m going to try oatmeal, it’s my go to.)

Bacon grease (Since I didn’t have any bacon to add, and so many other recipes called for it, and since I wasn’t going to deep fry, I opted for bacon grease. Any grease, or oil that is suitable for frying will work.)

Mash the peas with a fork or potato masher. Add in everything else, except the grease. Mix everything together until well combined and a moist dough is formed. You won’t be able to pick it up and form a patty, but it will look like you probably could.

img_3200

 

Heat the bacon grease in a skillet (I like my cast iron skillet, but any skillet will work.) Plop, drop a heaping tablespoon of the mixture into the hot grease and flatten slightly so it will cook through.

Cook two to four at a time, depending on how big your skillet is. Mine is small (8”, ignore the dirty skillet and stove top.) You don’t want to crowd the skillet, it will make it too hard to turn the patties.

When they begin to crisp around the edges, slide a turner under them and flip.

When done, place on paper towel lined plate to remove excess grease.

Serve. I added garlic mashed potatoes and carrot strips. Enjoy. If I’d had some meat I would have added it to the plate. As it was this made a nice vegetarian meal, maybe vegan since I didn’t use any dairy. I think they’d be good deep fried and served as an appetizer on Blue Blood Friday.

img_31951

 

Have you tried a new recipe recently?

Do you follow them exactly or make changes?

How often do you eat meals that don’t include meat?

 

This is post six in the Ultimate Blog Challenge.

 

 

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Food, Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Black Eye Pea Patty – Another Way to Serve The Dried Pea

  1. Kelly says:

    You won’t catch me eating peas or beans, unless they are jellybeans, in any shape or form but I’m glad you enjoyed yours. I almost always follow recipes exactly because I don’t have enough experience to make changes. I did make throw some things together once and it was actually edible – that was fun.

    • Nita says:

      You did it once, you can do it again. Be brave Kelly, try making a little adjustment to a recipe. Omit something you aren’t fond of, or add something you like. If it works, write it down on the recipe to remember it. If it doesn’t work, just remember not to do it again. Happy Cooking.

Leave a Reply

