The Book of Education, Tracking Our Wealth of Knowledge

Raise your hand if you remember the board of education. I don’t mean the one made up of people who made rules and paid the bills for the school. This one was about twelve inches long and  five or six inches wide. Most had a handle carved on the end to make holding it easier.

board-of-education-paddle-enlarged

Now, I’m not going to ask how you know about the board. Besides this isn’t that.

This is much easier.

img_3209

This is about learning. Because learning is living. This is about keeping track of a tiny bit of the knowledge accumulated over a year, or month, or week. Time frame is optional.

I don’t know about you, but I sometimes (no definition on sometimes) forget the specifics of a lesson, whether something new is learned, or older knowledge is refreshed. Oh, I remember to put the information to use, sometimes.

 

However, my brain gets so jam-packed with information that some of the little nuggets get lost. Sometimes they’re just fun, interesting little facts or ideas.

  • Like a small rock is either a “keeper” or a “let ‘er lay.” Depending on the rock collector’s point of view.

Sometimes they are helpful pieces of information that need to not get lost.

  • How to use the gps on my phone, or the fact that my phone even has a gps.

Whether the education is about something serious and important, or fun, it’s nice to look back over the past week or month and be reminded of my education.

book-of-education-with-notes

Which is how the Book of Education came to be. The only way for me to remember something I learn at the end of the month something I learned at the beginning is to have a reminder of some type. A small notebook works well.

 

Last year’s notebook has been misplaced and as soon as I recover it I’ll share some of my educational tidbits. For this year, I have a new Book of Education. Already it has a couple of entries, despite the fact that between a head cold, extreme cold weather, and snow, I haven’t been anywhere all week.

This week I have learned:

  • Chapstick applied to a nose raw from a cold will soothe it and help it heal.
  • Medicine really does work. After having the sniffles for a couple of days my son and daughter-in-law gave me some cold medicine. The next day I felt much better. Okay, so that one was more of a reminder.
  • When I tried writing outside yesterday I learned the ink doesn’t flow well when it’s cold.

My Book of Education for 2017 has begun. What do you think about a Book of Education? Do you have a better title? Please leave a comment.

How do you remember some of the lessons you learn through the year?

What is a memorable thing you learned last year?

What is something you would like to learn?

This is post 7 in the Ultimate Blog Challenge. Thanks for joining us.

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Book of Education, Tracking Our Wealth of Knowledge

  1. Love that idea – I do something similar, but along a slightly different vein of thought. I have a terrible memory, so writing things down is a must! Thanks!

    • Nita says:

      As we age our brains get filled to overflowing with good information. We don’t forget something, we just have trouble retrieving it from our stuffed brains. That’s my story anyway.

  2. This is such a great idea – I don’t think I could come up with a better title. Just think, you could even bequeath it to your children or grandchildren.

    • Nita says:

      Thank you. I had doubts about the title but rather than fixate on it I just went with the first thing that popped in my head. Thanks for stopping and taking time to comment.

  3. Martha DeMeo says:

    Great blog! At 67 years old, I still love learning now things no matter how small. But like you, I write things down for two reasons. One is to have as a reference in the future and the other is, I find it easier to remember once I write something down.

    • Nita says:

      I am a firm believer in the philosophy, “as long as we’re learning we’re living.” I’m not far behind you in age. I think we remember something better when we write it down because that’s what we were taught to do as “young’uns.” Thanks for stopping.

  4. Kelly says:

    My 4th grade teacher used to call your board of education her “friend.” This is another great idea Nita; you are just full of them girl!

Leave a Reply

