One Word for the Year

focus-meme-1-8-17

I don’t know who said, “when you focus on what you want, everything else falls away,” but I believe it’s true.

Which is why FOCUS is my word of the year for 2017. I learned about choosing a word of the year around 2012. I don’t always have a word. Sometimes nothing fits.

Last year I forgot about the word of the year. I didn’t even try to think of one. This year, thanks to, Laurel Regan at Alphabet Soup, I was reminded, and the word FOCUS immediately came to mind.

In the early months, after my husband’s death my focus was all about ME. I hurt. I was lonely. I was scared. I was lost. All of my focus was on me, and how bad my life was, how angry I was to be continuing this life journey without my life partner.

That was too tiring. It’s exhausting to be angry, sad, upset. All.The.Time.

Gradually, I began to turn my attention, and focus outward to others.

I joined Toastmasters, and met new people who supported me and encouraged me. Participated in events, including several speaking contests.  

I joined Quilts of Valor, and have presented several quilts to soldiers (of every service) who were willing to put their lives on the line for us.

 

I returned to writing and wrote two devotional type books using quilt stories. Was invited to write a short story for an anthology. Have started another collection of short stories as well as an historical novel.

This year I have several goals I want to reach. Goals that have been on my list for two or more years. This is the year they are completed so I can move on to other projects, and ideas. Take care of the old and move forward.

I do have some motivational plans to help with the goals. For example one of my goals is to drop some weight. Honestly, that’s been a resolution or goal for, forever. To help with that I’ve signed up for, and paid to walk in two 5K events.

The first one, The Stuart Hornet Hustle is sponsored by my town. The money raised goes to the graduating seniors who plan to attend college. Most everyone else will be running, but just starting and then finishing is a new experience for me.

The second one is the Oklahoma City Wicked Wine Run.  Both my younger sister and my daughter are signed up for this. Doing it with them, even at a much slower pace, will be a new and enjoyable experience.

FOCUS  Is not just for the races, and weight reduction. In so many areas of my life I need to pay attention. So this year my word is Focus.

 

Do you do a word of the year?

What word describes your 2016?

Do you have goals that have been on your list for multiple years?

This is post 8 for the Ultimate Blog Challenge.

Also linking up with, Alphabet Soup for the word of the year.

 

 

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Word for the Year

  1. Judith Richey says:

    l loved reading about your journey and how you’ve found your FOCUS. My word this year is Limitless.

Leave a Reply

