Posted in Music, Ultimate Blog Challenge

Music and Mail, It’s National Letter Writing Week

It’s National Letter Writing Week and Music Monday. So, I’m going to combine them.

There is also a National Writing Day and Month, and neither of them are in January, how weird is that? Maybe it’s to spread the mail love. After all who doesn’t enjoy receiving mail that isn’t an advertisement or a bill? At any rate, this, the second week in January is National Letter Writing Month.

What’s Nice About Letters

  • They’re personal, they take time and effort to write and send. Unlike an email that can be written in a moment and sent even quicker.
  • They’re tangible and can be held in our hands. Sure we can print off an email, but it doesn’t have the same feel and weight as a letter sent by someone.
  • We can save them. How many women keep letters their husbands sent, and re-read them years later?
  • We look forward to receiving a letter in the mailbox.
  • Writing a letter can be healing.

Letter Writing Prompt (or Challenge)

This week consider sending (or in some cases writing a letter) every day. Since I’m joining up with Ultimate Blog Challenge and am posting daily for the month of January I’ll post a letter suggestion here each day.

For today, write a letter, or send a postcard to a relative who lives far away. Leave a comment below and tell who is going to receive your letter. I’m sending a postcard to my cousin. She lives in New York and I haven’t seen her in over ten years.

Letter Music

There are an abundance of songs written about mail and letters. I’ll share just a few here.

First, in honor of other cousins, as well as friends there is LETTERS FROM HOME – John Michael Montgomery

 

Next up, travel back in time to an oldie (ohhh, really and oldie?) THE LETTER – The Boxtops (

Then there’s this newer song (really it’s newer to me, even if the clip is from 1995) BOX FULL OF LETTERS – Wilco

 

Then there’s this really oldie, PLEASE MISTER POSTMAN – The Marvelettes

.I hope you take a few minutes to write a letter. You can enjoy the music while you’re writing.

Do you write letters often?

Who do (or would) you enjoy receiving a letter from?

What is your favorite “letter” song?

Don’t forget to leave a comment below, I love comments, they are music to my eyes. Joining Ultimate Blog Challenge, come and join us.

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

10 thoughts on “Music and Mail, It’s National Letter Writing Week

  1. I’m always so encouraged to receive thoughtful notecards or letters in the mail. And I’m spurred to do the same. Ah, good intentions! I’m so thrilled to see that you’re going to prompt me to remember to act on my good intentions! Believe it or not, getting things stamped, addressed, and in the mail is what often holds me back. Today, I’m going to write a note to my mother in law, who visited at Christmas.

    1. Yes, those final steps, addressing the envelope (after finding one), adding a stamp and putting the letter is the mail can be obstacles. But, they’re obstacles that can be overcome easily. Did you get the note written to your mother in law, and get it in the mail? I’m sure she’ll love receiving it.

    1. Change Mister to Missus? I don’t actually remember the Marvelettes, but I do remember the song. Even used to sing it, although the words were meaningless to me at the time.

  2. There is a British alt-folk, or fight-folk in his words, called Lupen Crook who released an album years ago called Waiting for the Postman. Its a beautiful colleciton of songs, but like all of the crooked man’s best work, something dark lurks just below the surface…

  3. Love, love, love this! I have some thank you notes to finish which I will work on tonight. To go with the letter-writing, I use fountain pens. My son introduced them into my life a couple of years ago. I somehow had it in my head that they were difficult to use and too messy…WRONG! From the moment I tried one my handwriting looked beautiful. They are less strenuous to write with…and I can change out my colors easily. Actually, I have a collection now, so I use different colors in each pen. Just thought this went along with the letter-writing post. 🙂

    1. Haven’t used fountain pens in forever. I didn’t know they came in different colors now. Maybe that’s a blog post for you to write, introduce the world to fountain pens. Thanks for stopping. I hope you got your notes finished and in the mail.

  4. I have so many letters from my grandchildren that I well hold on forever. While they all text or tweet, there’s nothing like a letter with a little drawing. We go back and forth sending them, we’re like pen pals.

Leave a Reply

