Connecting with Friends

Friends, add flavor to our lives. They celebrate the good times with us, they tolerate our shenanigans, (or they are the ones doing shenanigans), they entertain us, and they are there through the hard times to help us come out the other side.

funny-friendship-memes19-1

Why not write a letter to a friend. One who lives across the country, or world, or one who lives next door. Write a friend who has known you f-o-r-e-v-e-r and knows all your secrets,  or a new friend who is just learning some of your quirks , and still is a friend.

Here’s a look at some fictional television friends. Although I think the actors were also friends in real life.

First up, my favorite first look at friendship, Ethel and Lucy of I LOVE LUCY fame.

Then there is Andy and Barney from THE ANDY GRIFFITH SHOW.  I mean (spoiler alert in case you haven’t seen this show) we all need a friend who will put together a  team and go into a cave to rescue us, at the risk of looking foolish. We also need that friend, who after she rescues herself, will go back into the cave so we can rescue her and not look foolish. Friendship at its best.

Moving forward a litter there is Mary and Rhoda  and then Laverne and Shirley

Of course there is the unlikely friendship of Oscar and Felix of THE ODD COUPLE. Their friendship is so cool there is the classic version and a newer version.

See? Lots of friends everywhere. Today’s letter will go to a friend from high school. She lives across the country and we don’t see each other often. We usually stay in touch online, but a physical letter is a nice way to stay connected too.

Will you be writing a letter today? Leave a comment and share.

What is your favorite television friendship?

Will you write a note to a friend today?

Share a little about your oldest friend.

This is post 10 for the Ultimate Blog Challenge.

 

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in friendship, Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Connecting with Friends

  1. I am lucky to routinely see a friend I have known for more than 6 decades. And, two others for some 4 decades. A bunch for 2. Proof that I am getting old….

    • Nita says:

      You’re not getting old, you’re gaining experience, accumulating knowledge and collecting friends. Having long-time friends is a blessing. Thanks for stopping.

  2. The friend I knew the oldest is gone now, but we used to write letters all the time to each other, even when we lived only 4 blocks away from each other, until email came along. She, in turn, had another friend who moved to Scotland and they would instant message each other. I think my remaining friends and I are so used to email that it would be a huge surprise if they got anything in the mail from me. Kind of funny, this statement coming from a generation born way before “online” even existed.

  3. Kelly says:

    What a fun post. I’m trying to find addresses of old friends so I can write.

  4. tracyct says:

    Thanks for the encouragement to write an actual letter! I will send a card to an old friend this week and include a heartfelt message. One of my favorite television friendships is Oscar Madison and Felix Unger from the sitcom “The Odd Couple.” I love how two people so very different from each other, whose worldviews and lifestyles are worlds apart, and who frequently get on each other’s nerves can come together at the end of the day and value their friendship.

    • Nita says:

      I’m glad I could encourage you to send a card to a friend with a message. I agree, Oscar and Felix had a fantastic friendship. Thanks for stopping.

Leave a Reply

