Thankful for Wonderful Waitresses

Thankful Thursday

Today is Thankful Thursday. Most of us, have our “normal” blessings. Or is that just me?

I’m always thankful for things like, family, friends, a place to live, food to eat, etc. However, for Thankful Thursday, I’ll go a little past the normal. At least until I change my mind.

 

I am thankful for friendly, helpful waitresses. Two friends and I have a standing lunch date at a particular restaurant.  We go so often we have our own table.  All of the waitresses there are great. In fact, if we get a new waitress the experienced ones explain the procedure to her: 

  •   There will be three of them (if one of us hasn’t arrived yet.)
  • They prefer that table because it has better light and is a little quieter
  • They want rolls, no jalapeño cornbread.
  • Don’t forget the honey.
  • They drink root beer, diet soda, and water with lemon. (Although, the water one, me, sometimes adds another drink.)
  • They will want dessert later, not right away, don’t close out their ticket until after they’ve had dessert.

Yesterday’s waitress was new. She described the vegetable of the day, El Paseo Potatoes. She called it a baked potato with cheese and jalapeno pepper. Good try, it was baked, but as a casserole type dish rather than a baked potato with cheese and peppers.

My friend wasn’t sure about it, she doesn’t care for cheese. “Is there very much cheese on it?”

“I don’t think so.” The waitress thought for a moment before answering.

“I can always take it off if it’s too much.”

“No, the cheese isn’t on top, it’s mixed in and it’s already made so they can’t do one with less cheese. I’m sorry.” This should have been my clue that it wasn’t a “baked” potato, but potatoes that are baked.

I was more concerned about “heat,” I don’t do spicy.

The waitress suggested we go ahead and order, and if we don’t like it she could exchange it. My friend ate hers, it wasn’t too cheesy although she probably won’t be ordering it again.

I had to send mine back. It was just too hot/spicy for me. I’m a wimp when it comes to those flavors.

I am thankful for the waitress who took the time to describe the dish and then make arrangements to return it if we didn’t like it.

Most waiters and waitresses are great. Every once in awhile we’ll get one that isn’t, for whatever reason. Those people help me appreciate the wonderful wait staff I often have.

Thank you to the waiters and waitresses for the job you do and the smiles you share with your customer.

 Almost forgot. It’s still National Letter Writing Week. I’m writing a note to our eating establishment, complimenting their wait staff.  

Who will you write a letter or note to today?

Do you have a favorite eating place?

Do often get the same wait person? 

Have you ever been a wait person?

Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

Linking up this post 12 with the Ultimate Blog Challenge.

 

 

 

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday, Ultimate Blog Challenge, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful for Wonderful Waitresses

  1. V.J.Maheu says:

    I too really appreciate the hard work waitresses and waiters do, and its really great when one goes out of their way to make sure you enjoy your meal.

  2. Alice Gerard says:

    I’ve never been a server in a restaurant, much to the relief of customers who did not have to deal with me not hearing them in a noisy restaurant environment, delivering them the wrong food, and spilling their beverages. Because I know that I could not be a good server, I am very thankful for people who do this job and I try to make sure to tell them thank you and to give them a good tip. Gratitude does go a long way.

    • Nita says:

      Alice, we all have our limits. Life is better for all when we know ours. Gratitude does go a long way, I’m sure your servers appreciate being told they’ve done a good job.

  3. Kelly says:

    I love your idea of writing a letter to the restauarant you hang out it.

Leave a Reply

