Posted in Ultimate Blog Challenge

Getting to Know You – Ten Day “You” Challenge

 Shalini, who I met through the Ultimate Blog Challenge, has been doing a 10 Day “You” challenge. I’ve been following and thinking, ‘what a great idea.’ Which is why I’m following her lead.

10-day-challenge-photoToday is day one (or ten, since the challenge counts backwards) and secrets. I’m not sure they’re “secrets,” but here are ten things not everyone knows about me.

1.           I am the mother of three, and the grandmother of six. I don’t think that’s any big secret. But you might not know it.  They are seldom all in the same place at the same time, but they were last summer and I got a picture to prove it.

beshear-family

 3.  Growing up, my family moved, a lot. Often just changing houses in the same town. When changing houses, we also managed to change school districts. I went to nine different schools. And swore when I got married I would live in one place. Hmm, In the first four years of our marriage my husband and I moved eight times before we stayed in the same place for 26 years.

    4. I am involved with Quilts of Valor and love making the presentations. Even if tears are involved.

thomas-leonard-and-wife-with-his-qov    5. I am a little bit of a rebel, again, no big secret. I like to do things just a little bit different.

    6.  In the past couple of years my hair has been in part, purple, pink, and green I don’t do unusual color anymore, because it seems everyone else, of vintage age, is doing it.

    7. I’m not a fan of online shopping.

    8.  My dream house is a cottage style house with a beach and the ocean on one side and a garden with a patio on the other side. Of course, with someone to take care of the garden.

    9. I love notebooks and journals and have several. They are very hard to pass up, and they’re not expensive. Much as I love buying them, I don’t like writing in them because then they are “messed up.” It takes me several tries to actually use a notebook or journal.

    9.  I was not a fan of the Beatles and became a fan of the Monkees almost in self-defense. After all what self-respecting teen-age girl of the sixties did not like the newest, coolest, rock and roll?

 

  10. I know how to shoot, I haven’t gotten my concealed permit yet. Mostly because I don’t want to. I’m happy knowing how to handle the gun, and knowing I could use it if needed. When I was in high school a friend and I would go shooting a couple times a month. I don’t shoot as much now and I just have a pistol, although I prefer a rifle. Which is funny to me because in high school I shot a pistol. Go figure.

george-and-nita-in-pickup-with-riflesThere you have it. Ten secrets that really aren’t all that secret. Thanks to Shalini and the Ultimate Blog Challenge.

 

What is one thing few people know about you?

Where is your dream house located?

Have you ever colored, or thought about coloring, your hair an unusual color?

 

Leave a note in the comments and let me know what you think.

 

   

 

 

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

13 thoughts on “Getting to Know You – Ten Day “You” Challenge

  1. Few people know I have a private pilot’s license. I’ve never colored my hair but I think a purple streak might be fun when I get to “vintage” age. : )

  2. Thanks for sharing. 1) I have moved over 50 times, lived 20% of my life outside of the US and have visited 60 countries. 2) Dream house would be located on a Caribbean Island. I love the beach. 3) I have red hair, so have never needed to color it.

    1. Thanks for stopping and sharing Jeff. Sounds like your life has been busy. A house on a Caribbean Island would be perfect. Red hair is awesome.

  3. What a fun challenge Nita! My dream house would be a log cabin in the Smokey Mountains of North Carolina. It’s so peaceful and I love photographing wildlife and nature, and it’s full of it.

    1. Martha, the log cabin in the mountains was my husband’s idea of a dream house. It would’ve needed a river or creek nearby for me. I love wildlife, but don’t have the patience to photograph it. Glad there are people like you who do.

  4. I am a grandma too ( not many people know that). I have lived in the same house for the past 33 years though before that I moved 22 houses in 22 years ( my dad was a doctor in the Navy) . My dream house is located pretty much where I am already staying. I have coloured my hair with henna many times as a teenager but never as a salt and pepper granny. So there ! Now you know three things about me.

    1. I think one reason I wanted to color my hair, was because I never did as a teen. That and I wanted to be different. Thanks for sharing three things with us.

  5. Nita, yes I am planning to work on this too.. #8 is definitely a great dream house! and as for notebooks and journals, between my 10 year old and me, we have too many of them as well…

    1. It’s sad isn’t it, when we need a notebook and have to go buy one because none of the ones we have are just what we need? Can never have too many journals and notebooks. Well, maybe… Thanks for stopping and sharing.

  6. Love this! I adore the house I’m in…it is so ‘Us’ (my husband and I). However, I would love to live in a city like London or NYC or DC. And we have family in Italy…I wouldn’t mind a temporary stint there either. 😉 I have several blank journals, too. I didn’t used to write in them for the same reason you cited. But in recent years I am finally writing in them. I’ve decided I like them messed up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

