Posted in Fiction Writers Retreat, Ultimate Blog Challenge

Four Books, Day Seven


 

10-day-challenge-photo 

Four Books

Today is day seven in the, “Ten Posts about You” series. Day seven is to share four books.

Nope, not going to happen. The rebel in me is coming out. Instead of four books, I’m going to share four authors I enjoy reading.

opening-a-book-allows-in-light

Nonfiction is my first love for writing, curling up with a fiction book is my relaxing pleasure, which is why I’m sharing four fiction authors. These four authors create characters I enjoy spending the day with, even if it means no housework gets done.

Tammy Hinton  

 

tammy-hinton
photo via Tammy Hinton. TammyHinton.com

Tammy is a member of Women Writing the West, and Western Writers of America. Guess what she writes? Yep, western/historical. Her first book, UNBRIDLED was based, loosely on her ancestor’s story from when they settled in Indian Territory, now Oklahoma. RETRIBUTION followed and is the story of a young woman looking for peace after the civil war. JUDAS STEER, is a modern day western/mystery.  Her newest story, SHE-DEVIL JUSTICE goes back to the 1860s. Tammy is a member of the McWriters Critique group, which is where I met her.

 

Mariam Kobras

mariam-kobras
Photo via Mariam Kobras

I first “met” Mariam online. She had decided to try writing the stories in her head. I fell in love with the characters, Naomi and Jon in her first book, THE DISTANT SHORE. A contemporary story. It might be considered a romance, but for the most part it’s just a good book.She didn’t lose her writing mojo in her subsequent books,UNDER THE SAME SUN (book two in the Stone Trilogy),SONG OF THE STORM (book three in the Stone Trilogy) THE ROSEWOOD GUITAR (prequel to the Stone Trilogy) and, WAITING FOR A SONG (prequel 2 to the Stone Trilogy) I had the lucky opportunity to meet Mariam when she traveled to the United States last year.

Rhonda Gibson

rhonda-gibson
Photo via Rhonda Gibson. RhondaGibson.net

 

Rhonda is a contemporary romance writer I met last year when she was visiting her mother and dropped in on the McWriters. Rhonda has written too many books to list, you can find them all here. Whether, historical, mystery, or contemporary, Rhonda always includes romance. I bought several of her books when she was here, all were historical and enjoyed each one of them.

Marcia Preston

marcia-preston
Photo via Marcia Preston. Marciapreston.com

Marcia is an Oklahoma author, her first two books were: SONGS OF THE BONES and PERHAPS SHE’LL DIE, were mysteries. She then moved into mainstream books: THE WIND COMES SWEEPING, a story about two women, and their strength, TRUDY’S PROMISE, a mother abandons her child to protect him, then moves heaven and earth to get him back, THE BUTTERFLY HOUSE, the story of three women, connected by friendship, family secrets, and an incident that binds them together, THE PIANO MAN, a story of life. This book has a special place in my heart because one of the characters is the recipient of a donated heart. I have one of my grandsons today because of the generosity of another family and a donated organ. Sad to say she is also a widow. When her husband died she pulled away from writing for a couple of years. To the delight of her fans she is back at her computer sharing the stories that make us laugh, cry, veg out, or think. Her newest book will be available soon and she’s back to sharing her writing knowledge. She will be one of the two featured speakers at the Fiction Writers Retreat in June.

There you have it. Four authors among the hundred or so I enjoy.

Who is your favorite author?

Is there a book you enjoy rereading?

What is one of your favorite books?

Linking up with Ultimate Blog Challenge

 

 

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

4 thoughts on “Four Books, Day Seven

  1. thanks for sharing these new-to-me authors.. love historical/western/romance (well, almost any) fiction myself so will definitely pick up these authors’ books and check them..

  2. My favorite book is the Bible. But as far as fictional books I’m not sure, I like so many. I really loved a lot of them I read as a teenager such as To Kill a Mockingbird, and Lord of the Flies. As an adult I found that I really loved Homer’s Odyssey, Uncle Tom’s Cabin, and just recently “Orphan Train”.

  3. V.J. Thanks for stopping. I thought about listing the Bible, but decided to go with non-thinking books. I loved ORPHAN TRAIN. You have great selection there.

Leave a Reply

