Friday Food: Slow-Cooked Roast Served Three Different Ways

What did you eat this week? Anything exceptionally good? How about super easy? When I started this blog, this time, I thought I’d talk about fitness and food on Friday. I love alliteration. Let’s get real though, fitness isn’t going to make an appearance. At least it hasn’t so far. I’ll find another day to talk about exercise. It appears Fridays will be FOOD.

This week I thought I’d share how I served a roast several different ways. Cook once, eat multiple times. The roast in this case was pork roast, because that’s what’s in my freezer. The same thing can be done with any meat roast.

Monday

Before going to my critique meeting I put a roast in the slow cooker. Since I was running late (ha, normal for me) I didn’t take time to add carrots, potatoes, onion or celery. I just seasoned it with garlic powder, onion powder, and pepper, tossed it in the slow cooker with frozen roast juice from the last roast. Added the lid, turned it on (after making sure I’d plugged it in) and be-bopped to my meeting.

When I returned my roast was falling apart tender and ready to eat. Except, I wasn’t hungry. No problem. Since I’d used a cooking bag (I couldn’t find a slow cooker liner when I wanted them) to make clean-up easy, I just lifted the bag out of the cooker, twisted it shut, placed it in a bowl (in case there was leaking) and refrigerated the whole shebang.

Tuesday

I divided the roast and the juice into four serving size portions. Might could’ve done six, but I wanted to have enough.  Three portions were put in containers and replaced in the refrigerator. They could have been frozen, but since I plan to eat them this week there didn’t seem to be any point.

The juice of the remaining portion was thickened into gravy, the roast cut into smaller pieces and placed in the gravy to be warmed. A couple of potatoes were boiled and mashed. The roast and gravy was poured over the potatoes for a filling meal. No, there were no veggies, would have been better, but I didn’t.

Tuesday evening I reheated the roast and gravy and used it to top a baked potato. Easy and fast.

baked-potato-topped-with-roast-and-gravy

Wednesday

Another portion of the roast was used in a roast and veggie mix.  The original recipe called for macaroni shells. Since I didn’t have any I used egg noodles and a little cauliflower. Next time I’ll use all cauliflower. Also, I didn’t have any bread to go with it, garlic bread would have finished it off great. No need for extra veggies since there was cauliflower and tomatoes in the dish.

Thursday

On Thursday I traveled to a livestock show to watch a couple of my grands show their pigs. I planned to stop at the store and buy some bread and cheese for what I was going to call a faux-philly cheesesteak. Big problem, the store burned down eight months ago. They are in the process of rebuilding, but for now the local  Dollar Store serves as an emergency grocery store. For their weekly shopping, residents drive to a nearby town.

Except, that town was 20 miles south, and I lived 20 miles north of where I was. I didn’t want to go in the opposite direction. I did the next best thing, I stopped at Dollar Store for bread, they didn’t have any cheese. At least not the cheese I wanted. So instead, for supper tonight, a basic roast sandwich with, meat, spinach, and avocado, using the newly purchased bread, with carrot sticks on the side was planned. However, by the time I was ready to eat, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich sounded like a better option.

pbj-sandwich

FRIDAY 

Because I had another stock show this afternoon, this time a sheep show, and for two different grands, I choose to make it easy. For lunch a roast sandwich with roasted sweet potato wedges.

img_3591

The rest of the roast went in a labeled freezer bag, along with the cooking juice. It will be used later for soup. I’d planned to make soup Saturday. However the temperature is predicted to be in the fifties. That is not soup weather to me.

That’s what was for dinner this week. Next week is anybody’s guess. 

What did you have for dinners this week?

Do you have meals in the freezer to go to on busy nights?

What’s your favorite go-to meal?

Linking this post up with the Ultimate Blog Challenge. Come and join us.

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Food, Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Food: Slow-Cooked Roast Served Three Different Ways

  1. Martha DeMeo says:

    Great meals! I love crock pot cooking and having multi meals from one roast.

Leave a Reply

