Posted in Ultimate Blog Challenge

Six Things I Learned This Month

book-of-education-with-notes

What did I learn this month? Before I look share some of the tidbits from my Book O’Edcuation, a couple of observations from the last two days. Not necessarily something I learned, but somethings I was reminded. Like there was a reason for the Boy Scout motto, “Be prepared.” Like

  1. Being prepared means less worry. Had I written a couple of blog posts ahead, today’s post would be no problem. Just post an already written on.
  2. When sick, even foods I’m not fond of taste good. I had made a Fall Harvest Soup last month, it wasn’t my favorite cooking attempt. However, since it wasn’t all bad, I went ahead and froze serving size portions. Good thing, it’s what I ate this weekend.
  3. I can prepare soups, even if it isn’t “soup” weather and freeze it for days when it either is “soup weather” or I just don’t feel like cooking.

img_3209

Now, some of the things I learned this month in no particular order of importance or happening:

  1. Ink does not flow well in cold weather. I bundled up and tried to do my morning writing out on the front porch. It’s harder to read than normal because of all the ink skipping. Lesson: write indoors when it’s cold out.
  2. Learned a friend of mine is going to receive an award from a group where we are both members. More information on that when she receives the award. Don’t want to upstage the presenters.
  3. Stories work best with 8 or fewer important characters. A writer friend shared that information from one of her mentors. I can’t think of a television show, movie, or book that had more than eight important characters. Maybe THE HELP.  I’d have to go back and check.
  4. A candle warmer (have one of those?) makes a good tea warmer. Okay, or coffee warmer. That’s what my writer friend Jennifer McMurrain uses hers for, she’s the one who gave me the idea.
  5. I learned how to put 4 squares, or rectangles, on a page for a sheet of pictures, or cards. The explanation will take a whole blog post. I was so excited I could get my affirmation cards on one page to make a printable. It’s not ready yet, but hey, I made progress.
  6. This is important. If I let my licorice tea steep for the full 5 minutes it has a more “licoricey” taste than if I cut the steep short to the 3 minute minimum.

Sometimes there was a lesson, sometimes not, either way I added to my storage of information. The problem is, the storage file is stuffed, so for every new thing I learned, or old idea I remembered, according to someone (I forget who) somewhere (I forget where) we forget twice as much as we learn.

Does that mean the files in my brain will soon be emptied of useless information, and make it easier to retrieve the valuable stuff that’s already there, or gets added? Doubtful. Sometimes important information falls out of my brain and has to be reinserted.

Oh well. At least I learned some new information this month. How about you?

Did you learn anything interesting this month?

Do you purposely set out to learn or  do you just accept new information as it occurs?

What is something you learned (or re-learned) recently?

Once more, I am joining the Ultimate Blog Challenge.

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

One thought on “Six Things I Learned This Month

  1. I learned quite a bit from doing this challenge but one thing is most important and that is to post consistently I will be doing that from now on.

Leave a Reply

