Jicama and a Barbcue Place – Adventures in Food

Trying new foods is one of my “adventures.” Sometimes it’s food new to me, sometimes it’s a food prepared in a different way, or by someone who knows how to cook it, sometimes it’s a new eating establishment.

This month I have two food adventures to share. A new eating place, and a new food.

First up, Earl’s

Earl’s is a barbecue place in Edmond Oklahoma. I wish I’d thought to take pictures. It’s one of my cousin’s favorite places to eat and he treated me to lunch earlier this week when I had to be in the city.  The interior has a fifties vibe. The restrooms are labeled, Elvis (men’s) and Priscilla (women).  Inside the ladies room are large framed pictures of Elvis and Priscilla, one with them holding baby Lisa Marie.

The dining room has space between the tables so the guests aren’t crowded during the busy times, although we were lucky and were eating at an odd time, so the place wasn’t too busy. The tables are polished with just a little bit of texture remaining. Old license plates from around the country decorate the walls.

The food was good,  they didn’t skimp on the meat or the fries. Dessert was cobbler. I had blackberry, his mom had peach. They didn’t skimp on the servings there either. Mine might have been two servings somewhere else. No, I did not save part of it for later. Ate the whole thing then and there, and enjoyed it. I’m willing to go back next time he wants to go. I might even go by myself next time I’m in that part of the city.

Okra is a must

I first learned about Earls this summer with my cousins and I were traveling to California. We stopped at a barbecue place in New Mexico or Arizona and he was beyond upset that they didn’t serve okra.  I’m not sure New Mexico or Arizona knows about okra. Okra is served almost everywhere in Oklahoma and Texas, and I often order it, sometimes by itself.  I didn’t know okra was considered a staple side dish for barbecue. After all, I always have fries and or coleslaw. However, in his mind okra goes with barbecue, period. Which made it imperative for him that I eat at Earl’s so I could see how barbecue should be served.

It was a great day. Good food and good company.

A New Food

While I was in the city another friend asked me to pick up some   jicama. I thought she wanted it for her. But, since I won’t see her for almost two weeks, and we weren’t sure how long Jicama would last, it turned out it is for me. I hope I like it, I love saying the name “Hic a ma.” with a name that fun to say, it’s bound to taste good.

What is it?

According to the internet jicama is:  a Mexican yam bean or Mexican turnip. It is the edible tuberous root of a Mexican vine, jicama. According to the label on my purchase, and the nice man who helped me find it in the store, it is known as a Mexican potato.

 

Do you try new eating places often?

Do you try new foods often?

What was the last new dish you tried? Did  you like it?

 

 

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

