Posted in challenges

Decluttering a Piece at a Time, Healthier Home, Healthier Mind

This blog, much like me some days, it doesn’t know which direction to go. I’ve been accused, more than once, of not knowing what I want to be when I grow up. Of course, that would imply I intend to “grow up” at some point.

Never mind that. We’re talking about the blog here.

The blog also tends to go off in different directions, or I stop posting all together.

 

For July I thought I’d combine a couple of ideas and see how that works out.

First, I will be posting every day (or at least make the attempt) and joining the Ultimate Blog Challenge. It’s always more fun when others are joining in. Don’t you agree?

The Ultimate Blog Challenge (UBC) comes four times a year. The idea is that if bloggers blog every day for a month we will build up momentum and continue blogging on a regular basis. Somehow that hasn’t worked out well for me, but I’m always willing to try again.

Second, I will be posting about decluttering. Depending on who you ask, I may or may not qualify as a hoarder. I, of course, do not consider myself a hoarder. There is however, way too much “stuff” at my house.  “Stuff” in the house, in the barn, in the garage, in the sheds. “Stuff” everywhere, and much of it items I don’t need, or ever plan on using. Some of it belonged to my husband, some to the kids, some of it has is mine. While a few things have sentimental value to me there is far too much that I have hung on to out of habit. 

Items that have overstayed their welcome  are taking up valuable space in my home and mind. Removing them will improve both. At least, it can’t hurt. 

I have tried various methods of decluttering, all successful to a degree. Still, too much stuff fills my space. Jessica over at Good and Goodbye gave me a great idea. At least I think it’s great. By the way, Jessica is a minimalist so she’s the perfect person to emulate.

Here’s the plan: each day one item will leave the premises. I’ll post a picture of the item, give a little history (if I know it) and why it’s no longer needed. Jessica is currently weeding out clothing she no longer wears. While some clothing will find a new home, most of my clothing has been narrowed down to those items I like and wear, other items, though, are just taking up space.

Looking forward to both decluttering and clearing both my home and my mind, and blogging on a regular basis.  Don’t forget to come back tomorrow and see what the first item to leave will be.

Do you have a room, closet, or drawer that needs to be decluttered?

Do you declutter on a regular basis?

What’s your best method for decluttering, whole rooms at one time, or a little at a time?

Join me on Facebook at: Create a Diamond Life.   Don’t forget to sign up to follow me, you’ll get a notification on each new blog post.

To see what other bloggers are posting daily, check out the UBC Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/UltimateBlogChallenge/

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

10 thoughts on “Decluttering a Piece at a Time, Healthier Home, Healthier Mind

  1. Hi, the activity of decluttering is always appealing to me. It gives me a headache to see a mess or a cluttered space. There are things or possessions that we cannot let go somehow that is why they overstay. That is nice to learn about a way of doing it slowly but surely. Thanks for sharing the tip!

  2. What a great idea! I heard of people getting rid of 3 things every time they entered a room – to me that is too daunting of a task. Getting rid of 1 thing a day sounds like a goal I can accomplish!

    I am going to try to do that!
    Thanks for sharing!

    1. Oh.My.Goodness Paul. If I tried to get rid of 3 things every time I entered a room, I’d soon be staying in one room. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. I do declutter on a regular basis. I have got rid of a ton of stuff in the past couple months. Today my teens is changing their rooms around and decluttering in the process.

  4. Not being a professional, my opinion doesn’t matter much, but based on knowing (an in law) who IS a hoarder, I don’t think you are one. If you can get rid of stuff, you are not a hoarder. Maybe simplistic, but with the person I speak of, others who have tried to help him out (he doesn’t live locally to me) have told me if you try to throw anything out it brings him extreme anguish and he will literally pick through the garbage outside to get the items back. I look forward to your series. I am trying to use this holiday weekend to declutter, even if just a little.

  5. My house is clutter free (thanks to hubby), but my office is another story. I always feel better when I have a clean office and a clean desk, so decluttering a regular basis is a great idea. I especially like the idea to declutter one item at a time; so much easier than trying to clean the whole office at once.

  6. Hello from UBC! I am also in the process of decluttering. It’s a long process and I often take breaks between each declutter. So best of luck from me to you for both your decluttering and your posting for the challenge!

  7. I signed onto the blogging challenge and now it looks like I’m in a decluttering challenge too. It is all good.My spring cleaning is going to be a summer cleaning. I appreciate the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

