DECLUTTERING A PIECE AT A TIME – DAY 2 UBC CHALLENGE

I know today’s date is the fourth, which means this should be post four and not post two. Except, I had technical difficulties.

First, we had one of our Oklahoma thunderstorms which knocked my internet out. I’m not tech savy enough to post from my phone. Next, two family members ended up in the hospital. I went to check on them, that took another day. So here we are, on day four, posting for day two. I’ll get caught up here in a couple of days

 

It was suggested that part of today’s post include  why we  are doing what we do. Why am I decluttering in public?

To give a little backstory: 

 

For 26 years my husband and I lived in the same house, located about 30 miles from where I now live. We raised our children in that house. We accumulated a lot of “stuff” in that time. When we bought this house it seemed like the perfect opportunity to sort through our various collections. We began packing for the move, sorting as we packed. At least that was the plan. We were only going to bring what we needed or truly wanted. 

 

Yeah, my guess is we probably would have still brought some clutter. However, my husband went and died before we moved, or even got close to finishing packing.

 

At first I tried to sort as I packed. But, I just didn’t care. Sometimes too, the tears made it hard to see if what I held was valuable, sentimental, or could be left behind.

 

Now, ten and a half years later, it’s time to sort and remove that which I don’t need, want, or enjoy.

 

Which brings us to today’s item, a handy Pyrex® mixing bowl with a pouring spout and handle.

 

Not only do I not use it. Ever. I have no idea where it came from, or how long I’ve had it.

Did it make the move with me?

Did I acquire it after moving?

Who knows?

 

It could have come from my mother, doubtful, she cooked less than I do. My mother-in-law? Maybe, but still doubtful, it’s not her style. Another possibility, it’s from my aunt, she was a wonderful cook and liked all sorts of cooking equipment. However, even if it came from her, it has no sentimental value. Last, it could’ve been in a box of mixed up items we picked up at an auction. 

I have no clue where I got it.

 

I think I used it once and didn’t like it. It’s great for mixing, but I have other bowls that work just as well. It would be great for pouring pancake batter onto a griddle, if I liked and made pancakes.

I don’t.

 

I’m sure it will find a nice home somewhere. Some wonderful person who loves to cook will snatch it up at the thrift store and be ecstatic with their find.

Everyone wins. Tomorrow, another item from the kitchen.

 

Where would you start your decluttering?

If you don’t remember where you got something does it make it easier or harder to get rid of it?

Do you declutter when you’re emotional? 

 

This post is part of the Ultimate Blog Challenge, where bloggers are posting daily on their blogs. Don’t forget to check out some of them on the Ultimate Blog Challenge Facebook page.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “DECLUTTERING A PIECE AT A TIME – DAY 2 UBC CHALLENGE

Leave a Reply

