Posted in Declutter, Ultimate Blog Challenge

When the Toaster Oven Doesn’t Toast

What do you do when your toaster oven stops working?

Most people would discard it and buy a new one.

Most people.

Not me. No sirree bob, I left that sucker sitting on my counter for over a year.

Maybe I hoped it would suddenly start working. I have no idea why it sat for so long. I love using a toaster oven. It’s great for summer-time baking without heating up the whole house. It cooks meals for one without having to use the big oven. I used it almost daily.

Maybe because I’d had it for so long. That appliance had been with me since before the move. My husband and I bought it when the oven in our old house went out. Since the stove-top still worked and we knew we’d be moving at some point (we hadn’t even started house hunting though) it didn’t make sense to buy a range that might not fit in the new house. The toaster oven became our oven.

It worked well.

Until it didn’t.

Even after I received a replacement, the old one stayed.

The new one found a new place to live and the old one non-working one remained.

This week that changed. The old, non-working toaster oven left the building. It served me well, now it was time to let it go. Plus, there’s more space on my counter. Most important though, I don’t keep thinking, “I really need to get rid of that.”

It’s gone. Bye-bye.

Do you have any non-working items that you hang onto instead of letting go?

Is it easier for you to get rid of big things or smaller ones?

What is the largest item you’ve held on to for an extended period of time? Don’t forget to check out other bloggers posting daily at Ultimate Blog Challenge. 

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

Leave a Reply

