Posted in Declutter, Ultimate Blog Challenge

Day 3 Decluttering, Removing Unused Glassware

Coke® glasses, you’ve probably seen them, in stores or advertisements. Those glasses with small bases and larger rounded tops with the words “Coke” or “Coca-Cola” emblazoned on them.
I have several.

I don’t use them.

In fact, most of them are still packed from a previous move. Not even the move to this house, before that. They may have been packed in a cleaning spree (I have those sometimes.)

One reason they hadn’t been unpacked is that I didn’t want to use them and break them, they held memories.

My husband and I got the glasses many years ago when some place did one of those promotions where, to attract customers, they gave away things. That year it was Coke® glasses. Neither of us drink that soda, but the glasses were “cool” and they reminded us of our college days when, on the rare occasion, we could afford to go out and eat those were the glasses the eating place used.

Now the glasses are for memories of college days, and our making a special effort to buy enough for a set in later, but still scrimping by on little money, years. If one of those glasses broke, I just knew it would shatter my heart.

“Excuse me,” I said to myself, “how can they evoke any memories packed away in a box and not seen?”

Oh darn. My inner self had a good point. What good were the glasses packed away? How could they remind me of anything if I didn’t see them? Good-bye Coke® glasses. I still have the memories.

To be fair, I did keep one glass. It’s on my kitchen window sill. Right now it has a sweet potato growing in it. I plan to use it as a flower vase.

Do you have anything packed away that could be discarded?

Have you ever tried packing something up to see if you’ll miss it before discarding the item?

Do you remember the Coke® glasses from real use?

Once again, sharing this post on Ultimate Blog Challenge. Check them out, a wide variety of bloggers are playing.

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

Leave a Reply

