Posted in challenges, Declutter, Ultimate Blog Challenge

Declutter Day 7, Tossing Clothes That No Longer Work

Today’s declutter item is a grocery bag with clothing inside.

No, I didn’t take the day cleaning out my closet. I opened up the chest holding my summer clothes.

It’s July, I think summer is here, it’s time to let the dark, heavy clothes rest and pull out the light, bright, fun clothes. However, in the process I found several items I can’t wear. Some of them pieces  I’ve never worn.

Like this dress. Which isn’t summer dress, but it was in the chest. No reason to keep it. Another season won’t improve it.

I bought it several years ago thinking it would be a good Christmas dress. It has a couple of problems.

                   1. It’s ugly. Okay, maybe not ugly, but it doesn’t appeal to me. Why did I buy it? I don’t know. Maybe because I thought something was needed for the Christmas holiday and, since waiting until the last minute is a habit, there was nothing else available. It looks like something my grandma would’ve worn, and looked fabulous.
2. It doesn’t fit. It never fit. It didn’t even get worn for the event for which it was purchased. Why keep it? Because I’d spent money on it and I was going to be able to wear it. Except I won’t. Even when I get down to the size appropriate for the dress, I won’t be wearing it.

Goodbye dress and other clothes that don’t, or have never, fit.

Some of the clothing came as part of another outfit but didn’t work for me. Like this cute spaghetti (do they still call them spaghetti?) strap blouse.

It came with a jacket. The idea was to pair the top and jacket with a skirt or slacks. The problem? Again there are two problems:

                             1. See those skinny straps? No way they can hide bra straps. I’m of the age that bra straps are to be of service behind the scenes, they are not to be visible. There is no way I can wear a bra with tiny enough straps for this top. I know, the jacket would hide the straps. Except, when I get hot the jacket comes off. Then what?
2. It’s too short. I don’t show my belly in public. Ever.

No, this blouse will never be worn, at least not by me, time to find a younger person who will love it.

Other clothes in the bag I might wear when I reach the appropriate size, but I’d rather celebrate my success of dropping weight with new more current fashions rather than something from years past.

Out the door, and to the thrift store goes this bag of ill-fitting clothing.

Do you have clothing you’ve hung on to, waiting to reach the appropriate size?

Do you have a favorite clothing item that you hope will come back in fashion?

How often do you sort through and purge your clothes?

Check out the Ultimate Blog Challenge for more blogs about a variety of subjects.

 

Author:

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.

2 thoughts on “Declutter Day 7, Tossing Clothes That No Longer Work

  1. I have been decluttering my chaos and have already donated three garbage bags full of clothes that I never wear anymore. I have another two bags full! If you knew how disorganized I am, you would know that, for me, this is a major achievement!

    1. Alice, that sounds like a fabulous achievement. You stayed at it until you filled 5 garbage bags (if my addition is right.) That is great. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

