Sunday Afternoon Tea – When Technology Tries to Bite

Original plan – do a Facebook live and post it here afterwards.

Reality – Video looks like television reception from the sixties. No snow, but blurry and every changing picture. If it doesn’t improve it’s coming down.

There’s a lesson there and they remind me of some old sayings:

There’s more than one way to skin a cat.Ā 

I know, yuck. Right? Who wants to skin a cat. Of course, the sentiment is, there’s almost always another way. That was true in this instance. I couldn’t do the Facebook live with my phone, for some reason the internet kept stopping. Even when in the house next to the router. Will have to find the answer to that problem. In the meantime however, I figured out that a Facebook live could be done on my computer. Found another way to skin that cat.

If at first you don’t succeed, try, try, try again.

How many times have we heard that saying? That’s what happened today. Tried the phone Facebook Live, which I’ve done in the past, three or four times and it kept freezing up. Tried it on the computer and it seemed to work, although it starts out a little (lot) pixelated. Next Sunday will try again. Try, try, again.

It’s not over until it’s over.

The saying used to be different. But it referred to a robust woman singing a final tune. I tried wording it a little nicer. The meaning is the same, don’t quit until the round is over. Even if I hadn’t been able to do the Facebook Live today, as long as I kept trying I would eventually get it figured out. So, whatever you’re working on, don’t quit too soon.

I’m sure there are other lessons in today’s attempt, but three’s enough for now. I am posting the video below in the event it clears up when you click on it.

Have you tried something new recently?

When did you last do, or try to do, something that didn’t go as planned?

What adage would you add to the three I shared?

Sharing with the Ultimate Blog Challenge.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon Tea – When Technology Tries to Bite

    1. You should give it a try Martha. I understand, my tongue often mixes words up and I say some unusual things. It’s an experience though. Martha, as some else pointed out you can always do a regular video and edit it if necessary.

  1. Nita, congrats on getting as far as you did! So often, we think the more we offer, the more information we are transmitting. Fortunately or unfortunately, a quick read is what most people want when they visit a blog. I so appreciate your observations. And I sympathize– so often we have to go to Plan B. Blessings!

  2. I don’t like to do videos where I just talk with my face on the screen. I prefer focusing on others and learning from them. I still don’t see why live videos are considered so important. I often do impromptu video interviews with people I meet who are doing something interesting at farmers market or an art gallery, etc. These aren’t rehearsed. I sometimes do natures walks and narrate as I wail. What is the difference between posting one of those and posting live when most people will watch it later anyway? I think the chief beneficiary of Facebook Live videos is Facebook, because they get additional traffic they don’t have to share with YouTube or Vimeo.

    I’m viewing your video on my PC, and it keeps getting pixilated and then going back to normal. Probably not what you wanted to hear, but I thought you’d want the feedback.

    1. Barbara. I may not have “wanted” to hear about the pixilation, but I needed to know. Thank you very much. I think I’ll just delete it. After all it can’t help anybody if it irritates them. šŸ™‚ I’m thinking you’re right, the FB Lives aren’t worth the hassle, and will go to just doing videos and posting them. Thanks so much for the comments.

Leave a Reply

