In the Beginning We Were Just a Boy and Girl

WRITING  WEDNESDAY

It’s Writing Wednesday, and today’s prompt is to write about meeting your husband, significant other.

I spent yesterday at the hospital while my son had a procedure. The day conjured up memories of when his dad was ill and in the hospital. Not memories I want to dwell on. So why not go all the way back to when it began? When we met.

IN THE BEGINNING

We were both students at Murray State College. He was in his second year and I just started. My family had moved back to Oklahoma a few weeks earlier. For that and a variety of other reasons I stayed at the college most weekend. He went home unless he was working.

The first time I saw him was a Friday afternoon. I Peered over the partition separating the line of waiting students from those seated and eating, I looked for friends to join.

“No one here.” I glanced to see the owner of the deep timber voice and smiled at what I saw.

“Nope.” Just us two, I agreed.

We proceeded to get our food and join our respective friends, who were actually in the cafeteria.

A few days later I saw him again. Once more in the cafeteria. This time he was in the kitchen putting things away. When he saw me he grinned and began acting goofy. I laughed at his antics.

“Anybody know that cute guy working in the kitchen?” I asked when I joined my friends.

“Yeah, that’s David.” Someone said.

“Do you know him? Can you introduce us? What’s his last name?” I rattled off my questions.

“Yeah, I know him. Sure, I can introduce you. I’m not sure about his last name, it’s Bosure or something. French I think.”

THE MEETING

A few days later she did introduce us, in a way. Several of us girls were playing with a Frisbee in the parking lot. In case  you don’t know, a Frisbee is a round plastic disk that is thrown and caught, or in our case, dropped. She threw it into the open door to the boys dormitory.

All four of us went to retrieve it. Several guys were sitting in the lobby area watching television. She invited the guys to come play with us, they declined. However, she did convince them to show us their dorm rooms, as though they’d be any different from ours.

Her ploy worked and a group of us, boys and girls traipsed down the hall to check out a couple of the cleaner rooms. When we headed back to the lobby area she managed to shepherd everyone ahead of David and I so we were left alone at the back of the pack.

We stayed together that day, and for 35 years.

At our daughter’s wedding reception, 34 years after meeting.

By the way, I later learned his last name was Beshear, and we aren’t sure if it’s French or German.

How did you meet your significant other?

Did you like him the first time you saw him?

Do you have a favorite memory from the meeting?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “In the Beginning We Were Just a Boy and Girl

  1. I met my husband at a dorm Halloween party at UCLA’s Dykstra Hall in 1962. I was on the rebound from a breakup that very day. Since the one who’d broken it off was also in the dorm and with someone else, I hardly even wanted to go to dinner, but it was special dinner and I did want to eat.

    A mutual friend was sitting at a table that was half empty and I decided to join him. I dragged my roommate with me. My future husband was sitting at that table and our friend
    introduced us.

    We ate at the same table for all our meals after that, with the same group. Then we began to study at the library together and did a lot of talking going back and forth. We only had one official date before we got married about 18 months later, but we spent enough time together that it didn’t matter. Now we’ve been married for 53 years.

  2. I love reading about how others met! Sounds like you have a storybook marriage. I met my hubby on a blind date on Christmas day 1965. It was set up by my friend from high school who was going with Rich’s brother. Rich just returned home from the Army after a tour in Vietnam. We talked a few times in December, then when we met, it was love at first site for both of us. I was a junior in high school so had to graduate first! Fast forward to July 29, 2017 and we just celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at the same church we were married in. We now live about 1000 miles away but the trip “back home” was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

