Never To Old for Stuffed Animal Comfort – A Devotion

Day four of the Ultimate Blog Challenge. Whoo-hoo I’m on a roll. 

One of the goals is to post a devotion once a week. Wednesday is that day. The Bible verse comes from the King James version for two reasons: 1. It’s in public domain and 2. The language is beautiful.

2 Corinthians 1:3-4

Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.

 

Christmas came a mere three months after my husband’s death. Getting through the actual holiday wasn’t too bad. My children, and preparing for their visits kept me busy. I worked myself to the point of exhaustion, which made it easier to go to sleep.

Once the holiday was over, the kids had returned to their homes I began putting away the holiday decorations. I took each ornament off the tree and carefully packed it away. When I lifted the little bear down I couldn’t put him in the box.

I had bought the bear to be an ornament. However, in my “I’m a widow fog,” my proportion perception was off. While the bear wasn’t big, he was much too big to be an ornament. Ten inches. Oh my. Much too big for an ornament.

img_3188

My solution had been to nestle him into the branches of the tree. It was the perfect place for him.

When the holiday ended, however, I struggled to pack him away with the other holiday decorations. After several minutes of thought, I opted to place him on my bed. That night, when I finally prepared for bed, he didn’t get set to the side as intended.Instead, he stayed in my hand as I crawled into bed.  

For the first time in months, I slept soundly all night with the bear in my arms providing comfort. I slept with him for several months before I began to set him to the side. Now, he sits on a shelf on my headboard watching over me as I sleep.

img_3190

I realized the bear was God’s way of giving me tangible proof of His comforting presence. Because sometimes we just need something solid to hold.

Prayer; Thank you for giving comfort in a myriad of ways, using people, places, and things, even stuffed animals to help me stay connected.

Do you have something unusual that gives you comfort?

What is your favorite thing to do, hold, see, or hear, that calms and comforts you?

Do you have something from your past you cling to because it makes you smile?

Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

About Nita

Quilter, writer, speaker, mom and grandmom. I enjoy making quilts for my grandkids, and other children. I especially love hearing and sharing quilt stories with others, that's how the book came about and this blog will continue to share quilt stories and how God works with quilts to comfort and teach us.
This entry was posted in Inspirational thoughts, Ultimate Blog Challenge, Wednesday's Words and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Never To Old for Stuffed Animal Comfort – A Devotion

  1. Glenda Cates says:

    When my daughter was killed I kept 3 of he stuffed animals and I have to know where they are at all times and there is still times when I have a bad day that I will grab one of them and crawl into bed and wait for the day to go away. So I am so sorry for your loss but I will be Praying things get much easier for you as losing someone we love is the most horrible experience anyone can ever face at any time.

    • Nita says:

      Thank you Glenda. As you know, each day lessens the pain a little bit more. I’m actually moving forward now, and helping other widows cope and find their path.

  2. Glad that bear hug brought you solace!

    • Nita says:

      Thanks RAAckerman, when I change it up a little and put it in the book I’m going to use your title. It’s much better.

  3. I’m sorry for your loss and so glad that you found comfort in such an adorable bear. You’re right, sometimes we just need something tangible to be able to touch.

  4. Praise be to God who gives us comfort beyond understanding. Phillipians 4:7

  5. Martha DeMeo says:

    So sorry for your loss, but it looks like God gave your comfort in the bear and it was a way to let you know that your hubby is looking down, watching over you.

  6. I am so very sorry for your loss…Raspberries are my ‘thing’. Obviously not something to hold and cuddle, but they remind me of my grandmom and whenever I see/taste/smell them I feel her with me. She had raspberry bushes at the back of her yard and we would pick berries together in the summer when they were in season. They are my ‘spirit fruit’ 🙂

    • Nita says:

      I like that term, “spirit fruit.” You may not be able to cuddle them, but you can savor their flavor and smell while being transported back in time to your grandmother’s house. Thanks for stopping and sharing.

  7. The Lord works in mysterious ways.We can find him at places where we least expect him to be. Your post brought tears to my eyes…beautifully written. May the Lord always be with you to combat any loneliness. Looking forward to reading more such posts as part of UBC.

    Here is what I wrote recently. Do take a look and let me know…

    My Shadow…Have you seen it anywhere?

Leave a comment